10722 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
It is pretty much impossible to lose K+Q vs K+Q, the arbiter might ask you to play a couple of moves first, but even if "If the arbiter has rejected the claim, the opponent shall be awarded two extra minutes time" and it will be a draw because of the 50-move rule anyways.
Some more questions:
To the original questions:
1)If it's rated, then I get rating points, so of course I accept. If it's not rated, then I'll play on for the fun of it.
2)No. No one offers draw when they see mate in five.
To the "more questions":
1)Of course I accept. He can grind you down by playing random moves until you time out.
2)It's a win-win situation. I get money, he gets second place and less money but still some money. I accept whole-heartedly.
3)I take the repetition... a draw against a GM will be something to brag about for about half a year afterwards so my friends.
4)See the answer to question 1. I will just time him out and win on time. If the arbiter decrees that it's a draw, well, it's the same result, so I have nothing to lose and everything to win.
Yes, I too take the draw by repetition against a significantly higher rated player when I have lesser or equal material.
4. Yes, especially if he played a good game. QvQ is a theoretical draw anyways, and I would feel that he deserves the draw.
Both of you guys ended up with an equally good position... there is one thing you are missing -- your opponent has used more time! If he used more time to get an equal position, has he really played as well as you? Why not punish him for it? If there was any amount of increment, I might take the draw, but that would only be if I didn't believe I could exploit my opponent's lack of time (because the position might be simple enough), not because I feel like I have to show respect.
If my opponent uses more time than me, and I don't try to use that to my advantage, then it's like I've given my opponent a time handicap; I'd be making things unfair for myself.
All in all, getting to King and Queen with 5 minutes left on the clock is harder than getting to King and Queen with 20 seconds on the clock. In zero increment, that's as bad as being down a queen. I dislike zero increment (this scenario being one of the reasons), but if I happen to be playing such a game, then I will adjust my strategies accordingly. If you look at the top blitz players, you'll notice that they are able to get good positions yet still have plenty of time, even with no increment! Effective time management is a skill.
I think we should try to give opponents the same respect they would get OTB, where this behavior probably wouldn't be acceptable. Clocks have nothing to do with what chess is really about in my opinion, except in bullet chess, but that isn't really chess is it?
The following thread is very relevant to this one.
I disagree: clocks have a lot to do with chess -- don't you think it would be cheap for your opponent to take his sweet time with each of his moves, just to make sure he would beat you? This is what the clocks prevent. It's not fair to lose because your opponent takes more time than you; the clocks correct this by ensuring equal rights to time usage.
Isn't that good logic?
Well, I guess I agree there, but winning a game from a dead drawn position because your opponent is physically incapable of moving his pieces fast enough doesn't seem right to me. Very simply put, the game is about checkmate, and clocks should take the second seat to that. Trying to win on time when checkmate is practically impossible should be ruled draw as it currently is with most OTB rules (I think).
@browni3141: Let's see how far your ethics hold up. Here are some questions for those who would agree to a draw:
Now, to all the others who have said that they would force a loss on time, I have a question for you:
If this world level tournament has one arbiter per game as per appendix B of the FIDE Laws of Chess, he would rule it a draw, end of story. No "What if he doesn't" here; there's just no way at that level an arbiter wouldn't immediately rule bishop and wrong rook pawn a draw; unless of course the king is too far away to prevent promotion. Even if he postpones his decision, he can't "walk away", since arbitration in Blitz conditions is only possible to begin with if there is one arbiter per game. You're constructing a ludicrous scenario. (Not to mention that a draw offer after you've already requested arbitration is completey superfluous. Asking the arbiter for a draw as per FIDE 10.2 counts as a draw offer anyway.)
And I'm not exactly sure why you'd want to delve into "morality" of draw offers and the accepting thereof without first making sure you understand the rules. It's hard enough to get those straight.
Where the rules allow "forcing" a loss on time in a hilariously drawn position, there's nothing morally objectionable to it. You are allowed to win through any means covered by the rules. But that necessitates you understand the rules in the first place.
I would almost never accept a draw on move one. One exception might be if I were feeling ill, or had a splitting headache, and the game had no real sporting significance (this is often the case in the last round where neither of you are in the running for a prize.) I might also grant a draw if my opponent was feeling ill, although this is a closer case. But in general, I have no desire to force a sick man to play. I really don't care about the rating difference. In fact, the greater the difference, the more I would prefer to play. A tournament game against a master or senior master is a great learning opportunity; It's what I was looking for when I paid my entry fee.
This is entirely not the point of my forum. Just because the arbiter should claim a draw, doesn't mean he will. I have reached similar situations where the arbiter refuses to call it a draw and insists that we play it out, never to help again. The scenario used was to simply get the idea that there is a lot of money on the line. I wanted to ask if this would sway your decision.
Also, the World Open blitz tournaments are USCF-rated, so your application of FIDE rules is totally out of line.
Here's a different way to approach this issue: Perhaps we could interpret that if you win a drawn position on time, you won the game in the sense that you were able to force your opponent to use more time than he wanted to.
With all of this being said, I would feel a little iffy about doing this OTB, only because, if the players are moving too quickly to record their moves, then there is no way to prove a draw condition (such as 50 move rule). I would feel bad about winning that way, as just because one can't prove a draw condition without a record of the moves doesn't mean that draw condition didn't happen.
I want you to tell me where you disagree with my first paragraph.
"Now, if everyone you knew was watching the game. Family, coach, friends, and they believed it was morally right to accept the draw, would that change your actions? Why or why not?"
Absolutely not, and for a very simple reason: I don't need other people to tell me that I am doing the right thing for me to believe that I'm doing the right thing! I would stand by and defend my decision to the death.
a) It's not your bloody forum. It's not even your thread, you just started it. You can try to guide the discussion, but I'm not sure where you even want it to go. Constructing ludicrous scenarios will not lead to valuable answers.
b) All I can find on the USCF rulebook is that it's very similar. It's not publicly available either, so I can't check whether it's different in this very specific point. Is it? Am I "totally out of line" assuming that a tournament called "World Open blitz" might follow the FIDE rules?
You could have been helpful by pointing out the crucial difference in the US rules that makes your scenario not totally ludicrous. It's not like I can check on my own, since the USCF doesn't publish its rulebook. I found bits and pieces, but nothing that would make your scenario plausible. US arbiters at a tournament of any kind of importance would still never look at a drawn bishop+wrong rook pawn ending and not rule it a draw due to, what was it, insufficient winning chances.
c)Like I said, under tournament conditions, any way to try to win that is covered by the rules is also right. But I won't waste anyone's time.
I'd have accepted the draw the moment my opponent stopped the clock to fetch the arbiter, because I generally assume the arbiter of an international tournament is not bloody stupid and will declare the wrong rook pawn ending a draw anyway.
But let's say I don't do that, even though I would, and the arbiter returns wearing completely fogged up glasses, clearly stoned out of his mind, and says "Nah, totally not a draw"... No, I give up. That's like a police officer pulling a gun on me asking for my wallet, or a server telling me to get my own bloody food, or a tour guide asking me for directions, or a pilot asking me how to fly a plane. I'm not equipped to imagine myself in such a situation.
I think I'd still accept the draw offer, because there's going to be all sorts of fuss even if I get the clearly undeserved win. I made my fatal mistake when I let my opponent trade down into the clearly drawn endgame.
I'm not sure about the rules at the most precise tier, but I always thought that an arbiter can only claim a position to be drawn when, even with absolute worst play from either side, nobody would win. In the case of Bishop + wrong rook pawn, if black played as badly as possible -- run his king away from the pawn -- white could queen the pawn and win. Therefore there isn't insufficient mating material.
hell yes and yes
A TD can "enforce" a draw claim in positions--where a USCF C Class player can be expected to hold a draw against a USCF Master.
So not a lot of "drawn positions" get enforced. Only the really simple ones.
What is your opinion on chess games that result in a draw?
draw is a fine result, but otb if you looked at the scoreboard and see a draw, you ask yourself it is really a draw as part of a fight or just two friends who decided to draw the game.people talk openly about agreeing to a draw beforehand. some don't even play.A: I have to go the party, so we have to play another dayB: I am currently busy too why don't we just tell the tournanment director it was a draw.in some cases the tournament director is standing next to them.A: I can win the tournament by a draw, so you can decide at any time when you want a draw during the matchB: ok
this happened in a last round and B took the draw on move 3. the tournament leader was standing next to them
A: no why show up a tournament to play only 15 moves and then draw. are we playing chess or counting points. if people want to talk fair play in chess then morality plays a big role in this question as well.the best chess-player should win - not the best tournament strategist.- and how many you know that will give you a draw.b. depends on the position.c. sometimes the best game I've played end in a draw after 60 moves.
what time controls are better for the following
by Threebeast a few minutes ago
Only 1 simultaneous game in Live Chess now? Are you kidding me??
by skakmadurinn a few minutes ago
6/18/2013 - Tal-Starodub, Petrozavodsk 1984
by Jonesateer 2 minutes ago
Who is the best chess player of all time?
by bladezii 6 minutes ago
Is it true that you should not exchange pieces when your down in material?
by LongIslandMark 7 minutes ago
FM Borislav Ivanov Disqualified
by RandyRhoads 9 minutes ago
My swell chess set
by NimzoRoy 9 minutes ago
My debut game
by Svekke 12 minutes ago
by azh2012 12 minutes ago
Scotch Gambit novelty.
by RigasUT 13 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com