14500 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I'm sure that there's a good reason why FIDE decided to make it illegal to write down your move first, but I've never heard it. I always assumed that the main goal of FIDE in all circumstances is for the chess officials to make the game as unpleasant and unpopular as possible
Gijsson discussed this briefly this month, at least why he came to agree. Walking the rows at a tournament, he saw a player's scoresheet that had very many moves lined out and written over. While he didn't believe that player had an illegal intent, it was impossible to distinguish this behavior from taking notes which is specifically prohibited.
The USCF allows you to put your current move in on a paper scoresheet before the move, and erase or line it out if you change your mind. It explicitly states that excessive changes are not allowed. This rule has existed for many years. After the advent of eletronic scoresheets both USCF and FIDE determined that putting the move into the electronic scoresheet was not legal because you could then see the position with the new move and change it. (therefore you are using it like an analysis board). However USCF changed there rule after deciding that a paper score sheet did not constitute an analysis board. You do have to watch as some open sections of tournaments in the US are FIDE rated and thus subject to FIDE rules. You can get a copy of the differences between USCF rules and FIDE rules on the USCF website.
FWIW, I had an awkward experience at a FIDE rated tournament in England a few years ago where this "write move after touching piece" rule was applied and in fact enforced against me (it's a hard habit to break!). What I don't quite understand is why this rule exists in the first place, except perhaps if someone is constantly scribbling on their scoresheet in a particularly distracting manner, which to me seems like a behavior that could be classified under the larger rubric of "intentionally disrupting your opponent's concentration".
bobbymac310 ~ Gijsson didn't say the writing was an "analysis board," he said it was effectively "note-taking," which is prohibited.
What possible reason does USCF have for maintaining different tournament rules than FIDE? In this particular case, it can only put players used to the USCF rule at a disadvantage when competing under FIDE conditions.
Besides, of course, the obvious answer that USCF is composed of idiots who do everything possible to screw up chess in the US.
But without the USCF who would send me such fascinating emails as:
Dear United States Chess Federation member, Your auto insurance is supposed to guard you every mile you drive ... every day of the year. But what if you're paying too much for protection that stops short if you're in an accident?
(and so forth)
yes Kxg5 looks like a clear win for HIM to me. I suspect he misinputted the game. That looks like a highly suspect move to me by white and illogical to say the least.
Yeah thats not right.
Im trying to have fun playing chess!!!!! :)
by RonaldJosephCote a few minutes ago
by RonaldJosephCote 3 minutes ago
by Vortex_Surfer 3 minutes ago
Fair Play policy
by wish_tal 4 minutes ago
sexism in chess?
by Feufollet 5 minutes ago
Adding weight to pieces
by ClavierCavalier 5 minutes ago
HOS Dubrovnik Already Sold Out!!
by andy277 5 minutes ago
Most Underrated Chess Player of All Time
by PaullHutchh 7 minutes ago
Kings Indian Attack
by XPLAYERJX 7 minutes ago
Standard rating > 400-500 from bullet/ blitz? Computer cheater?
by Tactical_Knightmare 8 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!