13515 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
you are quoting from a FIDE Rule book.
The other KEY factor your forgetting is that notation is REQUIRED by the tournament rules except , wait for it,...., when its a scholastic event! If you can not rebuild the position from notation the position stands as is....
This is one reason I have always asked my students to notate games. In one case two kids i know would never lie said two entirely different things about a position. A pawn was on a square certain square or not. One kid notated , one kid stopped due to time trouble. guess who won the argument?
I have had situations where after a game a player said X happened after looking at notation. THe result stands even in FIDE rules this is true , a result stands. Your wrong Yerelov , and I am sorry that you feel differently. I also felt that TDs should beable to interfer with something like an illegal move, 3 move repeition , etc but someoen pointed out to me in the rule book you can not do this.
There are two situations here:What happens if a game is over and the position on the board was determined to be illegal? Does the result stand? answer yes
What happens if during a game the position on the board is determined to be illegal (ie two bishops of the same color for 1 side) but there is no notation to refer to determine where the error occurred?
answer the position stands as is
If you doubt me email the USCF and ask them your question and you will get the same response I gave you.
FIDE RULES are different but here are the FIDE Rules that are related to the situation at hand.
If, during a game, it is found that an illegal move was made, the position shall be reinstated to what it was before the illegal move was made. The game shall then continue by applying the rules of Article 7 to the move replacing the illegal move. If the position cannot be reinstated, the game shall be annulled and a new game played. This applies to all sessions of play, and to a game awaiting a decision by adjudication. [Note that this discovery of an illegal move must be made while the game is still in progress, before resignation or the agreement of a draw. The only possible exception can be if the illegal move itself would theoretically end the game: anyone trying the trick 1. e2-e4 e7-e5; 2. Bf1-c4 Ng8-f6; 3. Qd1xf7 "mate" may be penalised under Article 10.17! Note that the act of playing an illegal move, at ANY stage of the game, does not IN ITSELF forfeit the game.]
If, during a game, one or more pieces have been accidentally displaced and incorrectly replaced, the position before the displacement occurred shall be reinstated, and the game shall continue. If the position cannot be reinstated, the game shall be annulled and a new game played.
Most tournaments use FIDE rules.
"Most tournaments use FIDE rules."
Uh, not in the US they don't.
Fine, you are right.
The USCF is stupid for allowing this though.
An illegal game of chess is not even chess.
It''s actually quite easy if you know how. just force the king to the edge with your bishop and knight.
you can only checkmate in the corenr the came colour as your bishop, so the enemy king will tend to run to one of the other corers if forced to the side.
this is the haredst part, it looks like the kings escaping but its noy.
It took Ivanchuk something like twenty moves to eventually mate from the center of the board against a GM.
You know, everyone is right but you? Just giving you a heads-up.
All the opponent has to do is complain.
Some years back I won a couple hundred bucks in a local tournament. In post game analysis we discovered I had made a "super knight" move (2x2), during the time scramble in the endgame. Excellent move, saved the game.
But my opponent was shit-out-of-luck, since the game had already ended. And he said as much. Ditto with the TD.
P.S. The USCF rule book dovetails with the description above. Illegal moves discovered (AFTER the game) cannot be rectified.
The USCF rulebook is NOT available online, last I heard. After the various "court cases" against Polgar, and the other Brainiacs vying for election to the Executive Board, the Federation remains very strapped for cash.
Morevoer, there is a copyright issue with the USCF rulebook that (apparently) precludes its availability in PDF format. Go figure.
P LACE YOUR OPENTS king ina POSITION TNAT HE CAN NOT MAKE A MOVE
Place your oponents King in a position where he can not make a move
You obviously didnt read the OP
I had forgotten all about this thread.
Same. It's as if all old threads are coming back.
Life after death!
My game against a CM
by silverblack a few minutes ago
by AndyClifton a few minutes ago
Why did STAFF lock a forum about cheating in OTB-tournaments?
by Stigmatisert 6 minutes ago
How to detect cheaters in OTB tournaments
by Stigmatisert 7 minutes ago
Where to buy a chess set?
by owltuna 11 minutes ago
Carlsen or Anand?
by Patscher 15 minutes ago
5/20/2013 - Mate in 3
by PIRATCH 16 minutes ago
by TomHaegin 17 minutes ago
Deep Blue vs Garry Kasparov
by InoYamanaka 25 minutes ago
Staunton Chess Set - Wellington
by Wel5 26 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com