Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

How to Offer a Draw if Playing OTB


  • 2 years ago · Quote · #1

    mtbz

    I know this might sound dumb, but I really need some concrete answers for this. All this while, I have been learning chess and playing it online. If I were to offer a draw, I will just hit the draw button and the game draws. How, then, would you do to offer a draw for on the board games? Do you say "Can we have a draw" to your opponent or do you just voluntarily shake hands and assume your opponent knows that you want a draw? How do you decline a draw? Please help me learn the ethics of chess thank youLaughing

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #2

    Scottrf

    I've never been to a chess club, but I'd imagine 'Draw?' would suffice.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #3

    jetfighter13

    you offer draw with an inquisitive draw, Make sure you record this on your score sheet, also you can claim draw, but that is a different story all together.  To decline, either make a move, or just politely say no.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #4

    champ_weller

    i hate when your brother in law laughs at a draw offer and it ends up being a draw..

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #5

    jetfighter13

    I am trying to organize an OTB tourney at my school, I should probably tell anyone who signs up that draws are possible

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #6

    Skwerly

    "I offer a draw" is the way I have always seen it OTB.  Even the grandmasters.  :)

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #7

    AnthonyCG

    "You wanna catch the rest of the game?"

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #8

    k-scope

    I would like to know if it is allowed to withdraw the draw offer if your opponent is thinking about whether to accept or not?

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #9

    Skwerly

    once it's out there, it's out there; no withdraw.  :)

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #10

    dark_knightB

    offer the draw, make your move, hit your clock.  opponent will then accept the offer or can decline or just make his move.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #11

    ChessisGood

    1. Write your move.

    2. Make your move.

    3. Say, "I offer a draw"

    4. Hit the clock

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #12

    Skwerly

    ChessisGood wrote:

    1. Write your move.

    2. Make your move.

    3. Say, "I offer a draw"

    4. Hit the clock

    This. 

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #13

    Rubidium

    You can offer a draw BEFORE making a move, but then your opponent can still accept or decline after you make your move.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #14

    happyfanatic

    AdvLegitimate wrote:

    If you offer a draw then decide you dont want it, just say 'actually ive decided to play on' when they put their hand out for the draw.

    No as was already mentioned earlier, a draw offer cannot be rescinded and stands until your opponent agrees,refuses, or makes a move(which is a form of refusal).

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #15

    shepi13

    happyfanatic wrote:
    AdvLegitimate wrote:

    If you offer a draw then decide you dont want it, just say 'actually ive decided to play on' when they put their hand out for the draw.

    No as was already mentioned earlier, a draw offer cannot be rescinded and stands until your opponent agrees,refuses, or makes a move(which is a form of refusal).

    I know a funny story about this - a GM offered a draw from a position where he had a winning tactic. Then he saw the tactic and played it. His opponent immediately resigned, forgetting that he could accept the draw offer.

    Another story - I told this to my coach, an FM. He said that he's done the same thing - he actually resigned from a stalemated position once.

    One question- In one of my games I offered my opponent a draw and he touched a piece. Anywhere he moved it he lost, so he accepted the draw. Even though he never completed his move, can he accept the offer after touching a piece? I'm not sure.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #16

    Estragon

    As others have noted:  a draw offer may NEVER be withdrawn under USCF OR FIDE rules. 

    The proper order is to make your move, offer the draw, hit your clock.  You are not required to record your move on your own time, although an arbiter/TD may direct you to record it immediately after hitting the opponent's clock ("completing a move").

    I have accepted draws in winning positions where my time was so short as to put the physical chance to bring in the point in doubt.  I would certainly offer the draw in a losing position in the reverse situation, although that hasn't actually happened in my OTB career.

    I have also won and lost games on time which would not have been the result if the game were untimed at that point.

    shepi13 ~ In your situation, once the opponent touches a piece he MUST move it, so he can no longer accept your draw offer.  At that point he is now offering you the draw, and it is your right to insist he complete his move first.  I don't think there is any doubt or controversy in this case.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #17

    NimzoRoy

    If I were to offer a draw, I will just hit the draw button and the game draws.

    WRONG the game doesn't draw here when you hit the draw button, your opponent has to accept the draw offer - unless there's been a triple repetition or insufficient mating material.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #18

    AnnaZC

    paulgottlieb wrote:

    That's correct. Or he can require you to make your move and then decide to accept or decline. Technically, you should make your move along with your offer. ANd do remember to hit your clock! Once you've made your move and your draw offer, he should be thinking it over on his time!

    aaaahhh Paul, cant draw offers be made at any time, maybe for the sake of etiquette it is best to offer on your time

    Though waiting for an opponent to move, might give you an idea if draw is still worth the offer, for all we know, the opponents last move could go from equal position to a better position for you, and therefore making the offer of draw now pointless

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #19

    NimzoRoy

    ...maybe for the sake of etiquette it is best to offer on your time AnnaZafi

    In OTB chess you MUST move prior to offering a draw - a handy requirement (for your opponent) since your move may be a blunder. And once you move you should hit your clock immediately, so therefore the opponent must mull the draw offer over on his/her time.

    "For the sake of etiquette" applies to Dear Abby, Emily Post and Ann Landers, not to draw offers in chess!

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #20

    AnnaZC

    so wait, you cant offer draw at any time,


Back to Top

Post your reply: