13424 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I know this might sound dumb, but I really need some concrete answers for this. All this while, I have been learning chess and playing it online. If I were to offer a draw, I will just hit the draw button and the game draws. How, then, would you do to offer a draw for on the board games? Do you say "Can we have a draw" to your opponent or do you just voluntarily shake hands and assume your opponent knows that you want a draw? How do you decline a draw? Please help me learn the ethics of chess thank you
I've never been to a chess club, but I'd imagine 'Draw?' would suffice.
you offer draw with an inquisitive draw, Make sure you record this on your score sheet, also you can claim draw, but that is a different story all together. To decline, either make a move, or just politely say no.
i hate when your brother in law laughs at a draw offer and it ends up being a draw..
I am trying to organize an OTB tourney at my school, I should probably tell anyone who signs up that draws are possible
I believe that when you offer a draw, and you can only offer it on your move, you are suppposed to also make your move. In other words, you make your move while saying, "I offer a draw," or "would you like a draw." If you simply make the offer, your opponent may require you to make your move as well. Your offer is binding until your opponent either verbally declines or makes his own move.
This sounds more formal than it actually is, but it's always best to follow the form and avoid any misunderstandings
"I offer a draw" is the way I have always seen it OTB. Even the grandmasters. :)
"You wanna catch the rest of the game?"
I would like to know if it is allowed to withdraw the draw offer if your opponent is thinking about whether to accept or not?
once it's out there, it's out there; no withdraw. :)
offer the draw, make your move, hit your clock. opponent will then accept the offer or can decline or just make his move.
1. Write your move.
2. Make your move.
3. Say, "I offer a draw"
4. Hit the clock
Your draw offer is absolutely binding. Your oppnent can accept or decline, but you cannot withdraw it.
You can offer a draw BEFORE making a move, but then your opponent can still accept or decline after you make your move.
That's correct. Or he can require you to make your move and then decide to accept or decline. Technically, you should make your move along with your offer. ANd do remember to hit your clock! Once you've made your move and your draw offer, he should be thinking it over on his time!
If you offer a draw then decide you dont want it, just say 'actually ive decided to play on' when they put their hand out for the draw.
No as was already mentioned earlier, a draw offer cannot be rescinded and stands until your opponent agrees,refuses, or makes a move(which is a form of refusal).
I know a funny story about this - a GM offered a draw from a position where he had a winning tactic. Then he saw the tactic and played it. His opponent immediately resigned, forgetting that he could accept the draw offer.
Another story - I told this to my coach, an FM. He said that he's done the same thing - he actually resigned from a stalemated position once.
One question- In one of my games I offered my opponent a draw and he touched a piece. Anywhere he moved it he lost, so he accepted the draw. Even though he never completed his move, can he accept the offer after touching a piece? I'm not sure.
As others have noted: a draw offer may NEVER be withdrawn under USCF OR FIDE rules.
The proper order is to make your move, offer the draw, hit your clock. You are not required to record your move on your own time, although an arbiter/TD may direct you to record it immediately after hitting the opponent's clock ("completing a move").
I have accepted draws in winning positions where my time was so short as to put the physical chance to bring in the point in doubt. I would certainly offer the draw in a losing position in the reverse situation, although that hasn't actually happened in my OTB career.
I have also won and lost games on time which would not have been the result if the game were untimed at that point.
shepi13 ~ In your situation, once the opponent touches a piece he MUST move it, so he can no longer accept your draw offer. At that point he is now offering you the draw, and it is your right to insist he complete his move first. I don't think there is any doubt or controversy in this case.
If I were to offer a draw, I will just hit the draw button and the game draws.
WRONG the game doesn't draw here when you hit the draw button, your opponent has to accept the draw offer - unless there's been a triple repetition or insufficient mating material.
"Death Match 14: GM Moradiabadi vs GM Zherebukh - Hosts IM Rensch & Co!"
How to improve chess game????
by Vandarringa a few minutes ago
by ClavierCavalier 7 minutes ago
Super Hard Math Problem!!! Can anyone solve?
by ClavierCavalier 10 minutes ago
Why does live chess only have increment: why not delay too?
by Roeczak 11 minutes ago
How many of YOU saw improvements in your intelligence after playing chess?
by SandyJames 15 minutes ago
5/19/2013 - Mate in 2
by SacredMountain 16 minutes ago
My game against a CM
by C-nack 17 minutes ago
Analyze and Explore boards
by Greywolf52 18 minutes ago
Colour changes 3 minutes into game
by knightdoug 19 minutes ago
A nice miniature from Tal
by jsmma 20 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com