Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

insufficient material logic does not quite work as it should !


  • 9 months ago · Quote · #1

    jaybeegee

    ... is it my impression or do others feel the same way?!

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #2

    Khallyx

    Care to elaborate?

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #3

    FirebrandX

    In OTB, the situation can be judged by a TD. For automated online chess, they have to decide on a rule set that can have exploitable loopholes. It's the nature of the beast.

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #4

    jaybeegee

    hello all and thanks for the replies!

    If I could elaborate ... I find that when the time is up, unless it is an obvious draw, if there is a clear winner then it should not be called a draw due to "insufficent material". This is a classic example: http://www.chess.com/livechess/game?id=687002857

    I do not get the logic!

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #5

    Scottrf

    Oh, I thought you meant as Firebrand, there could be a winning line yet it's judged as insufficient as you only have a knight.

    The position you post is insufficient material by any rules of chess.

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #6

    rooperi

    In your example, who do you think should win?

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #7

    ajian

    Black flagged but white had only a lone king so it's a draw because white could never mate black. Now if white flagged then black wins because black can win there.

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #8

    secrekept2

    Feelings? What are those?

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #9

    FirebrandX

    jaybeegee wrote:

    hello all and thanks for the replies!

    If I could elaborate ... I find that when the time is up, unless it is an obvious draw, if there is a clear winner then it should not be called a draw due to "insufficent material". This is a classic example: http://www.chess.com/livechess/game?id=687002857

    I do not get the logic!

    The logic is white cannot checkmate with a lone king, so it's a draw even though black ran out of time. You have to have winning material in order to win on time. That's always been the case with chess.

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #10

    Mersaphe

    Black obviously wins if he had more time. Since he ran out of time, it should be a draw. Or do you think black should lose?

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #11

    jaybeegee

    thanks for the spoonfeeding - I think I get it now!

    From the link is it evident who ran out of time?

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #12

    Scottrf

    jaybeegee wrote:

    thanks for the spoonfeeding - I think I get it now!

    From the link is it evident who ran out of time?

    Yeah, white moved last.

    Also, it's the only way it would be insufficent.


Back to Top

Post your reply: