15994 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I was at a tournament last week.
My opponent pushed his pawn 2 squares forward and then took it back right when he saw me about to take it with my Bishop.
He didn't press the clock yet though and since I was low in time, I was rushing to make my move as quick after he made it.
it is illegal, next time pause the clock and get a td (tournament director)
In your case it depends . Did he still have to pawn in his hand when he saw that you was about to take it ?
A move is said to be concluded when a player finishes a legal move by taking his hand off the piece played . If he still holds the piece in his hand , the move is not yet concluded , but now he must play (any legal ) move with that piece. He's not allowed to play with any other piece.
So , if he played a different piece and pressed the clock , you can point it out to him or call the director and claim extra time.
His hand was off the pawn for half a second.
Right when I was about to take it, he quickly grabbed it back and made another move.
But he didn't press his clock yet though.
I see pelly13.
Luckily, I didn't really care much. It was my first tournament and it had no effect on my rating. No prizes or fee anyway.
But I was just curious on the rules so it wouldn't happen next time.
Well you say his hand was off the pawn and the move he played was legal. It's now a concluded move : his pawn is considered to be played.
You say he did another move and that is illegal . I would now start to attrackt the attention of the arbiter , but since he didn't press his clock yet , I would wait for my opponent to press the clock and only then lay it before the judge.
In tournament play it is TOUCH MOVE not Touch Clock.
It doesn't matter if he took his hand off the pawn or not. Once he touched it, he MUST move it if there is a legal move he can make with it. NO EXCEPTIONS in tournament play.
The only problem is the type of player who tries to take back a move usually has no problem LYING about it. So a witness would help a lot, perhaps a player at an adjoining board or a spectator saw it happen. Stop the clock and summon the arbiter first, though. There is no point in trying to find witnesses first, wait until the arbiter comes and see if the guy denies touching the piece.
I wouldn't call this uncommon at a tournament. But under tournament rules, if he takes his hand off the piece, he can take it right back if his clock is still ticking provided he must move that piece for that turn. If he puts it back and moves another piece, he has made an illegal move and you should holler for an adjudicator to remove the fool. But if he moves the pawn forward twice and sees you prepare your bishop to take, provided his clock is going he has every right to make it a single move forward.
^ No he doesn't. Touch move applies when the piece is touched. But once the piece is released, no more takebacks, no playing a different move with that piece.
Your opponent is a cockroach and should be exterminated. Seriously, in addition to stopping the clock and getting the TD the first thing to do is get a WITNESS. This is most effectively done by saying "You can't do that!" or "You let go of it" just as he was retracting the move, as as soon as possible. Players near you will look. Without a witness or an admission of guilt by your opponent, it's your word against theirs. Was this a scholastic tournament?
In Linares 1994, Kasparov himself took back a move in his game against Judit Polgar. The position after 36.Nd2 below is the scene of chess Kasparov's crime. Black to move
In the above position, Kasparov played 36...Nc5, except that he realized that after 36....Nc5 Judit would have won the exchange with 37.Bc6. Kasparov took back his move to d2 and later played 36...Nf8
Although there was no witness Spanish TV filmed the scene " Kasparov dropped the Knight on c5, lifted hand a bit, then saw he was losing a Rook, took the Knight back to d7 and few seconds later played Nf8. Judit was stunned, looked around for the arbiter but didn’t complain at all."
Kasparov won that game. Except that even Chess.Games labelled that game as "J'adoube! game of the day Dec 30-05"
So funny. Right after I posted my question, I came across this chess book, read through all 300 pages and came across the same Kasparov vs Polgar match where Kasparov apparently cheated slightly.
It was my first tournament so all I cared about was gaining experience, mostly psychologically handling the pressure, adrenaline, and other factors. Doesn't matter if I won or loss. I'm glad I learned about the touch move rule so next time, it won't happen to me again in a real tournament.
Lesson: Don't be too nice to the person beforehand. Otherwise, he might take advantage of your kindness which was what the guy did lol.
Your opponent should, at the very least, move the pawn. By the rules, he should leave the pawn where he put it in the first place. No discusion whatsoever.
What I have to tell you is that you can´t move your pieces until your opponent finish the move, this means, after he presses the clock. If he doesn´t press the clock, is not "legally" your turn yet.
What you can do is take a bishop and, without droping it at all, put it from c1 to d2 and then, you think is not good, you can put it back c1, drop it, think again, and move it finally to e3 for instance. This is perfectly OK. Of course, once you touch the bishop in the first place, you must move it.
As a little advise, use first your brain and then your hand always, it´s easier. Also pick up one routine: think, move, press the clock and note the move, in this order, and you´ll be fine. Do you know how to ask for a draw correctly?
Some (usually blitz) tournaments has the additional rule that the clock finalizes the move, not releasing the piece.
I think this is for all games really, the clock finalizes the move always. Not in blitz, not in slow time controls you can move one piece, drop it off, and then think about take it back. All is left is press the clock, no other choice, or resign :D
which mikail is better?
by Corsair-x a few minutes ago
Sicilian Defense - suicidal(now nominate or vote me for troll of the month)
by 90007000 a few minutes ago
losing by offering a draw?
by DonMarietta a few minutes ago
it will be nice if chess.com do this
by A_Mgd a few minutes ago
Bizarre Game Positions - Games Almost Impossible to have been Played!?
by TheARBChessSystem 3 minutes ago
The Ultimate Test of Engine Fanatics
by bjohn123 7 minutes ago
Bullet without increment takes no skill
by TroIl 8 minutes ago
London Chess Classic - Super 16 Rapid 2013
by pdela 9 minutes ago
by dashkee94 9 minutes ago
Stuff Non-Chess Players Say
by December_TwentyNine 9 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!