Forums

Knocking your King down when resigning

Sort:
TeraHammer

How many people do this? When resigning, knocking your king down?

I think it is quite rude if this is done rougly, and disrespectful for the pieces and the game of chess.

But the thing is, I have yet to meet someone who puts his King down respectfully.

What are your thoughts on this?

buho

When I was a kid I saw for the first time a chess match in my school, they were older guys than me and every time one of them resigned knocked the king down. I thought it was part of the rules so when I started playing I did the same and never thought of it as rude.. Now I handshake my opponent!

But consider this.. even a handshake could be rude! It depends on the attitude.

kyten44

I have always gently set it over.

goldendog

Oh come on! (1:10)

TeraHammer

Haha I watched 1:09-1:11 for like 20 times :-D Funny. That king was bitchslapped so hard haha! And nice anekdote, phren.

kmb146

What if you were to take your King off the board and set it down in front of your opponent? Or is it most polite to verbalize your resignation?

nweb99
ciljettu wrote:

I always resign with external grace but internal combustion.

ciljettu your doing it completely wrong your supposed to resign  with external combustion you didn't know that [lol].

mateologist

I think you are supposed to stop the clock, tip over your king, and place a white handkerchief of surrender in the middle of the chessboard!

champ_weller

I knock the king over but i do it gently and i shake my opponents hand me and my wrestling coach play quite often and were about the same level but he is a sore loser and we always play on my set so he flicks my king across the room :( oh and what happens in a uscf game or a FIDE game and you accidently knock the king over?

DavidMertz1
champ_weller wrote: