Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Knocking your King down when resigning


  • 3 years ago · Quote · #21

    Amir169

    It's the first time I hear about this! Knocking your king down! That's  funny and not rude at all. I think your judgement refers to your culture.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #22

    aljay007

    I have never needed to resign before so i wouldnt know, I always win ;)

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #23

    achonite

    Whenever I resign, i just tip over the king.  I don't do it roughly or gently, I just tip it over.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #24

    jetfighter13

    depends on the position

    lol could say that about anything in chess.

     

    but I generally am nice when I do it, I just lay the king down gently and offer a handshake, oh and pfren, lmao Kg0

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #25

    Estragon

    I doubt the Alekhine story v Grunfeld because it was on resumption after adjournment.  That Black was winning would not have been a surprise to him.

    Incidentally, for some years what we know as the Grunfeld Defense was called the King's Indian, because 3 ...d5 was invariably played.  The KID as we know it didn't develop for many years.  It was only after ...d6 became popular that ...d5 began to be called "the Grunfeld".

    Irina Krush was upset in the video because it was the final Armageddon tiebreak game for the US Championship, and she was winning on the board, but fell short by a second or two.  If she had taken off her jacket before the game, she might have won:  you will notice she keeps tugging on her right sleeve to keep it out of the way.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #26

    Estragon

    The proper way to resign with the King is to lay it down gently on its side.

    I remember a weekend Swiss, pretty decent-sized tournament, where one player knocked over all the pieces in his game after a blunder and stormed out of the tournament hall.  He never came back - as far as I know, he never played OTB tournament chess again in the region.

    It must have been a really bad move!   Surprised

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #27

    wiimac

    I've never resigned in an OTB game as a great man said, "Nobody ever won a chess game by resigning."

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #28

    champ_weller

    wiimac wrote:

    I've never resigned in an OTB game as a great man said, "Nobody ever won a chess game by resigning."

    that makes no sense lol

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #29

    helltank

    Nobody ever won a chess game by shuffling his king around as two rooks fly up the board to checkmate him either. 

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #30

    champ_weller

    helltank wrote:

    Nobody ever won a chess game by shuffling his king around as two rooks fly up the board to checkmate him either. 

    my point exactly

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #31

    Namssob

    joeydvivre wrote:

    I don't understand that "I never resign" stuff.  Down somewhere just north of two pawns with no compensation, I resign.  I hate playing out losing positions and I think it is reasonably disrespectful of your opponent. 

    I'm barely qualified to comment, but haven't you ever resigned then later noticed a move that could have helped you win?  I did this just last week, noticing a possible winning move after I resigned. It made me mad, and taught me to be more certain before resigning.  Being down 2 pawns, even at the grandmaster level, is hardly a reason to resign considering humans make mistakes.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #32

    shepi13

    A master told me he resigned from a stalemate once Laughing

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #33

    Ferric

    In tournaments never resign until you want to .

    In practice its two thoughts you play and then blunder you keep playing the other person will blunder too.

    Or you never learn to fight if you always give up when you blunder.  So its part of the game so if you do not want to sit through the learning process of the other's then using a clock might keep things in order.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #34

    shepi13



  • 3 years ago · Quote · #35

    Dandy55

    @shepi13:

    Actually, it's you who blundered on move 16 - you should play zwischenzug 16...Qf4+ with additional attack on e4 instead of taking the rook on d1 - and then you would have a forced win of a 2 pieces for a rook after 17.Nd2 Rxd2 18. Qxd2 Qxd2 19.Rxd2 Bxe4 which should be enough for a winning endgame

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #36

    shepi13

    Actually Qf4+ leaves the game in question (although I'm definately better) while Rxd1+ gains a nice attack, and I have several promising continuations, most of which look to win.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #37

    shepi13

    Oops, Nd5 fails to Qxb7. Bd5 was the interesting move.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #38

    shepi13

    I just checked my engine and it agrees with my analysis, at least on the first move.

     

    (16.Be4 Rybka 2.3.2a mp 32-bit  -3.92 (depth 14)  Rxd1+ 17.Kxd1 Nxe4 18.Nxe4 Rd8+ 19.Nfd2 Bxe4 20.Qxe4 Bg5 21.Kc1 Rxd2 22.Kb1 Rxf2 23.Qa8+)

    (16.Be4 -3.92 (depth 14)  Nxe4 17.Nxe4 Rxd1+ 18.Kxd1 Rd8+ 19.Nfd2 Bxe4 20.Qxe4 Bg5 21.Kc1 Rxd2 22.Kb1 Rxf2 23.Qa8+)

    (16.Be4 -2.03 (depth 14)  Qf4+ 17.Nd2 Rxd2 18.Qxd2 Qxd2+ 19.Rxd2 Nxe4 20.Nxe4 Bxe4 21.f4 Bd5 22.Re1 Rd8 23.a3)

    (16.Be4 -1.01 (depth 13)  b4 17.Bxb7 Qxb7 18.Rxd8+ Rxd8 19.Ne2 a5 20.Ned4 Bc5 21.Nb3 Bb6 22.Qe2 a4)

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #39

    shepi13

    Yeah, Rxd1 definately wins a piece at least - I think there are even stronger continuations then the one I gave after it though. However, my opponent didn't even realize he could play Kxd1 that's what was funny.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #40

    DKof

    In a spirited final match to determine the winner of a small "for fun" tournament in which the only stakes were possibly winning back your small entry fee and bragging rights, I bested my opponent who responded by standing up and swiping at his King with a force sufficient to send it somersaulting down the table.  Upon realizing what he had done, he quickly recovered the King and gently placed it on the board, appearing slightly embarrassed by his exuberance.  His reaction made my day as I was then sure he had put everything he had into that game.  The  "take a step back" reaction of the peanut gallery was also a hoot.


Back to Top

Post your reply: