Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Knocking your King down when resigning


  • 2 years ago · Quote · #1

    TeraHammer

    How many people do this? When resigning, knocking your king down?

    I think it is quite rude if this is done rougly, and disrespectful for the pieces and the game of chess.

    But the thing is, I have yet to meet someone who puts his King down respectfully.

    What are your thoughts on this?

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #2

    buho

    When I was a kid I saw for the first time a chess match in my school, they were older guys than me and every time one of them resigned knocked the king down. I thought it was part of the rules so when I started playing I did the same and never thought of it as rude.. Now I handshake my opponent!

    But consider this.. even a handshake could be rude! It depends on the attitude.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #3

    kyten44

    I have always gently set it over.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #5

    goldendog

    Oh come on! (1:10)

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #6

    TeraHammer

    Haha I watched 1:09-1:11 for like 20 times :-D Funny. That king was bitchslapped so hard haha! And nice anekdote, phren.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #7

    kmb146

    What if you were to take your King off the board and set it down in front of your opponent? Or is it most polite to verbalize your resignation?

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #8

    nweb99

    ciljettu wrote:

    I always resign with external grace but internal combustion.

    ciljettu your doing it completely wrong your supposed to resign  with external combustion you didn't know that [lol].

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #9

    mateologist

    I think you are supposed to stop the clock, tip over your king, and place a white handkerchief of surrender in the middle of the chessboard!

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #10

    champ_weller

    I knock the king over but i do it gently and i shake my opponents hand me and my wrestling coach play quite often and were about the same level but he is a sore loser and we always play on my set so he flicks my king across the room :( oh and what happens in a uscf game or a FIDE game and you accidently knock the king over?

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #11

    DavidMertz1

    champ_weller wrote:

    I knock the king over but i do it gently and i shake my opponents hand me and my wrestling coach play quite often and were about the same level but he is a sore loser and we always play on my set so he flicks my king across the room :( oh and what happens in a uscf game or a FIDE game and you accidently knock the king over?

    Knocking over the king by accident doesn't mean you resign.  If you weren't trying to touch it, then touch move probably doesn't even apply.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #12

    champ_weller

    so you could "accidently" knock over a piece on the board to avoid moving it

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #13

    ChristianSoldier007

    Alehkine once "resigned" by throwing his king across the room

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #14

    waffllemaster

    Half the time I lay my king on its side softly and extend my hand.  I set it back up soon after though.  At least in the United States it's recognized as resignation, so it's not rude (goldendog shows an exception heh).

    Pfren's story made me laugh :)

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #15

    Conflagration_Planet

    I thought you were supposed to make your opponent eat it.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #16

    shepi13

    ChristianSoldier007 wrote:

    Alehkine once "resigned" by throwing his king across the room

    Wasn't that in the game when Grunfeld first played his new opening Laughing. Some world championship match I believe.

    (In case anyone is wondering what opening it is the Grunfeld defense).

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #17

    helltank

    I remember one time I was playing against this really rude guy and when he resigned he grabbed MY king, threw it to the floor and swept all the pieces off the board.

    He was booted out of the club and asked never to come back unless he wanted to make friends with a barbed bullwhip. 

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #18

    shepi13

    DavidMertz1 wrote:
    champ_weller wrote:

    I knock the king over but i do it gently and i shake my opponents hand me and my wrestling coach play quite often and were about the same level but he is a sore loser and we always play on my set so he flicks my king across the room :( oh and what happens in a uscf game or a FIDE game and you accidently knock the king over?

    Knocking over the king by accident doesn't mean you resign.  If you weren't trying to touch it, then touch move probably doesn't even apply.

    Touch move states that you have to move a piece if you touch it "with intent to move". You're right, accidently touching it doesn't count. You can't pick it up and then say it was an accident though lol.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #19

    shepi13

    helltank wrote:

    I remember one time I was playing against this really rude guy and when he resigned he grabbed MY king, threw it to the floor and swept all the pieces off the board.

    He was booted out of the club and asked never to come back unless he wanted to make friends with a barbed bullwhip. 

    My little sister used to do that Laughing.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #20

    Bubatz

    I never "knock" my king over when resigning. What I do is I gently lay him to rest.


Back to Top

Post your reply: