9636 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
1st one is definately illegal. Both kings are in check.
2nd one is legal. White's last move was Kd3+ from c3 or d4.
2nd position: What if the king was in h1 and it was BLACK to move?
Thanks Eebster for noticing.
White's last move was e6+
Which means that the pawn came from e5, which is illegal because then it must be black to move as he is in check.
f or dxe5+ en passant.
EDIT: Wait no...
It cannot be fxe5, it must be dxe5.
Okay, so it's like this:
I'm finding this humorous.
Someone wrote earlier that the standard starting position is "legal with white to play, illegal with black to play."
Is there no way to traingulate the knights?
Use post #56 for a hint about moving to different color squares.
I think this is illegal, but I'm still working through the thoughts. Here is the diagram from post #24:
The white pawn on c4 comes from the a2-square because axb3 and bxc4 is the only way for both a2 and b3 to be free for the light bishop to make its journey. This means the pawn on b3 comes from the b2-square. The a-file is the only file that comes open for white's rooks to come out. The white rooks need to come out before black plays Ra2.
One thing that was not mentioned was the fact that white needs to play Na1 before he plays b3. Otherwise the knight will never get there. Similiarly, black needs to play Nh8 before g6 is played. And white's dark bishop cannot get out until white plays b3. White's queenside rook can move out of the way, but the other rook needs to escape as well. White's kingside rook cannot get out until white's knights, bishops,queen and king clears the way. It would have to come out by playing Rb1 -> Rb2 -> Ra2 because the dark bishop cannot get out until white plays Na1 and b3 first.
b6 was never played (with a black pawn on a7) because black's dark bishop would never have a chance to reach b8. However, b6 does get played once the dark bishop reaches a7 (or b8) so that black can free the light bishop. This means that white's king can only reach black's backrank via g7. In order for black to allow white to play Kh6 -> Kg7, black needs to play Nh8 and g6 first. White's king needs to travel all the way across the backrank to b7 so that black can get one of his rooks back to g7.
Legal or illegal?
Yes, but it has to be BLACK TO MOVE.
I think this is illegal, but I'm still working through the thoughts. Here is the diagram:
Those facts are true, but one player could always waste time by moving a piece back and forth.
the forks make it seem illegal.
wel... that was a lot longer..
My position was legal.
Forgetting piece is threatened!
by slowlybutsurely79 a few minutes ago
Rate my latest miniature brah
by Chesscoaching 3 minutes ago
Isn't opening 1.e4 a sign of disrespect?
by lpblack 5 minutes ago
New Idea in the Morra
by pfren 5 minutes ago
I Don't See the Point of the Touch-Move Rule
by Here_Is_Plenty 9 minutes ago
7/27/2014 - Mate in 2
by boardcleaner 13 minutes ago
Gruenfeld defense draw (black)
by pfren 13 minutes ago
Is stonewall really viable?
by QueenTakesKnightOOPS 16 minutes ago
2014 Chess Olympiad (Tromsø)
by Synaphai 29 minutes ago
GM Robert Byrne (White) to move: Mate in ????
by lenslens1 36 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!