Forums

My 9-month progress learning chess as an adult.

Sort:
AdorableMogwai

I thought I'd post this to encourage the guy who started the other thread.

I too just started playing this year and am in my 30s. I never played as a kid unlike most of the people on here.

I don't think starting as an adult is as great a disadvantage as people believe. There are a lot of people who play chess as kids and their parents pay for them to have chess classes and everything, but how many of those people continue playing regularly into adulthood. If someone plays as a kid then goes 10 years without playing, that's almost like they never played at all.

When I started playing some months ago, I lost constantly and was rated 800. I didn't even know the basic rules like pawn promotion and castling. I wondered back then if I was going to stay at 800 because I had heard if you start learning chess as an adult you can't improve very much. I remember those first weeks playing I felt like a complete idiot because I kept getting caught in Scholar's Mates and other noob mistakes. I've always thought of myself as a smart person, and from losing all those games my self-esteem started to fall drastically, but because of the encouraging words of people on this forum like Chess_gg and Phylar I presevered.  Now it's not even a year later and I'm already rated over 1400. (granted this is on chess.com where the ratings are a bit inflated.)