Forums

New Release of ChessX out 0.9

Sort:
JamesCoons

Finally the official release of ChessX 0.9 is out. The main ChessX website has been updated. Its been a long time but the results are worth it.

http://chessx.sourceforge.net

Biarien

Great news! Any information on what specifically has changed (other than the bug fixes mentioned on the ChessX website)? Thanks for the post. :)

JamesCoons

A lot has changed, really too much to mention here, The last official release before this was around 2 years ago and the code has been updated quite a bit since then. Personally I have been doing development on ChessX in my spare time for the last several months. I added null move support and fixed the PGN parsing so we should now handle just about any legal PGN that is out there ( if we don't let me know ). Most all of the views have undergone some changes. The database list now allows you to select favorites which is a big improvement. I changed the default board to a nice mahogany one. I regularly update the Macintosh builds on www.box.com/chessX. I also update the windows builds but somewhat less often.

Biarien

I downloaded the program (for Mac) last night and am very happy to see that copying and pasting PGNs is now supported! :D It seems like sometimes the game information doesn't carry through -- not sure why. It seems like the 'New Database' command is new as well..? If so, bravo for that as well.

I could actually select favorites databases using the previous version I got from the box.com site, though it was a heart icon rather than a star. Unless you're referring to something else that I haven't discovered yet?

A few more minor (i.e., not engine/analysis/annotation related) feature requests / bugs:
1. The PGN issue noted above.
2. The game information box doesn't seem to have a way to edit/add the ECO.