Forums

Not Improving At All

Sort:
munchd0g

Hey what's up guys, this is my first time posting here!  :D

I've been playing chess on this website for a little over a year now, maybe a year and a half. I absolutely love the game and I try playing as much as I possibly can. I think I've played around 1,700 games of 5 minute bullet-chess alone! Anyways, I'm posting because of a huge problem I'm having-- no matter what I do, I simply cannot get better or increase my rating. It seems to be locked at around 1000-1100.

I think I have the right amount of knowledge to move forward, such as knowing how to checkmate with virtually any combination of minor/major pieces, memorizing a couple of "classic" games and being able to perform multiple openings and attacks, but no matter what I do or study, my game doesn't improve. There's no consistency in any of my games. Sometimes I'll completely torture and destroy my opponent, and other times I feel like a small child being handled by a Grandmaster, utterly hopeless and unaware of how to defend against the inevitable checkmate.

A lot of games are lost due to carelessness, but other times, the reason for why I played so poorly isn't as clear. I frequently watch chess videos and apply strategies taught by various sites (including this one!), but it doesn't seem to have any noticeable effect on my gameplay. It's been MONTHS since I confidently broke the 900 barrier and arrived at the 1000's. I really don't want this to be some insurmountable plateau that prevents me from getting better and learning more. Is there any advice you guys can give me? Thanks!

munchd0g