15417 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
A lot of new players write say,"Rd1" and you ask them "which rook?" and they give you that horrified look of ignorance. I'm wondering if neglecting to specify which rook or knight is an indication of the player not seeing the whole board including all the pieces.
Maybe they just forgot to indicate it and can't quite remember during the post analysis which one they moved?
I guess its possible that they didn't realize that another piece could have moved there, which may indicate that they aren't seeing the whole board. But, with new players, I think just going through a game and seeing the blatant mistakes (like hanging a piece) and all would be a better indication.
I encourage newer players to use the long form algebraic notation, "Ng1-f3," until they are familiar enough to use the abridged version.
I believe it's the case that if you seal a move this way in an adjournment, the opponent chooses which rook.
No. If the sealed move is ambiguous, then the player who sealed the move loses the game by forfeit. FIDE Rule 8-a under "Guidelines in case a game needs to be adjourned".
I would guess it is usually both :D
OK, that's even stricter than I thought.
Adjournment is a rare occasion these days - there was one event last year which allowed it. The advent of computers has lead to the general imposition of an idea originally Fischer's (at least he was the first top GM to advocate it), that games be played to a conclusion in a single session.
London Chess Classic - Super 16 Rapid 2013
by waffllemaster a few minutes ago
by caveatcanis a few minutes ago
12/11/2013 - Topalov-Kramnik, Dortmund 1996
by PaymanDrummer a few minutes ago
Why hasn't Ivanov been banned yet?
by Doggy_Style 2 minutes ago
Black to move - what result?
by caveatcanis 2 minutes ago
Should I stop to play?
by Xeelfiar 4 minutes ago
by duck29 4 minutes ago
Ponziani discussion without spam
by Crazychessplaya 7 minutes ago
Game editor problem
by Nobody47 9 minutes ago
Daily Puzzle 12/1/13-Beautiful Mate in 4
by GSHAPIROY 13 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!