10689 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I think a game needs to be four moves to count toward ratings on this site - it's in a FAQ somewhere.
Check out post #11 here:
Yes, three or less moves, and it's considered unrated.
If you win a game in exactly four moves or more, you get rating points.
So that means you cannot really put the Fool's Mate to use..
Also means you can resign if you blunder on move 3
After White moves 4, the rating adjustments will take place
Thank-you to Metastable, StrategicPlay, madhacker and Hydra for your speedy responses. Now I understand. BE warned I may challenge for a game.
Respect! Andy F a.k.a. Aventurine & InvidiousAtheist
Hi there, I did search the forum but found no answer. I was wondering why when I was 1146 and I played a game against someone 1134, won on time after 3 moves I received no points for this win. I presume a certain number of moves must be made. Is this correct and if so, how many?
Thanks in advance for an explanation.
No rating change on a timeout until three and a half moves or seven ply. Like spitting into the wind when I write this in the forums.
The site help and staff says four moves on a timeout. Resignation on any move affects ratings. http://support.chess.com/Knowledgebase/Article/View/16/0/how-do-ratings-work
My opponent faltered on time and I did not get points. What is even worse opponent did not loose points. At any chess tournament points are given or taken (not given) for failing to show for the game. That must be some new stupid rule or error.
If Fischer would played Karpov for the World Champion, who would win?
by fabelhaft a few minutes ago
7/12/2014 - Joseph Dollinger, Schach-Endspiele, 1806
by Nkabe a few minutes ago
Laughter is the best medicine
by kiwi 7 minutes ago
en passant étiquette when opponent doesn't know about the rule
by nobodyreally 7 minutes ago
white needs to play and win but black will try to draw
by senthil11089 7 minutes ago
Post your best miniatures here
by Barefoot_Player 14 minutes ago
I've fallen into the trap Lasker warned about...
by learningthemoves 28 minutes ago
Complaint about my comments on Tactical Trainer
by laurie66 34 minutes ago
by aminnjf 35 minutes ago
Chessenall vs Chess.com
by LudRa95 44 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!