Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Perpetual Check in Blitz


  • 24 months ago · Quote · #1

    szachmalpa

    In a 3 min. blitz match, am I allowed to use perpetual check to run down the clock? For example, say I have 30 seconds left and my opponent has 15 seconds left and I have my opponent in perpetual check. Can I just use perpetual check to run out the clock? Also, does it matter if I have a losing position  or not?

  • 24 months ago · Quote · #2

    BorgQueen

    Go for it, it's fine.  If you repeat the same position though, your opponent can claim a draw by 3-fold repetition.

    Many games are won this way.

  • 24 months ago · Quote · #3

    Deantasanto

    Sure, if your opponent doesn't claim the draw after 3-move repetition.

  • 24 months ago · Quote · #4

    szachmalpa

    Thanks, I did that, and my opponent claimed it violated the rules and said I should be banned.

  • 24 months ago · Quote · #5

    BorgQueen

    Then your opponent is/was an idiot.

  • 3 months ago · Quote · #6

    carbone144

    Pfff I've lost a game, There was Rook and king agains rook and king, perpetual checks and when I clicked on draw 10x, there was nothing, even after 118 move !!!

  • 3 months ago · Quote · #7

    BorgQueen

    That's because it was not a claimable draw.

    (a) the 50 move rule hadn't come into effect yet

    (b) the same position did not occur 3 times with the same side to move

    (c) there was no stalemate

    (d) there was sufficient material to mate

    You don't just get to draw because the position is a theoretical draw.  There is no such thing as a forced draw due to lots of pointless checks.  You had to make it to the 50 move rule before you can force the draw.

  • 3 months ago · Quote · #8

    knightedmagi

    It's part of the game. If your opponent can't protect his king, he doesn't deserve to win, even if he is up in material. 


Back to Top

Post your reply: