11844 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Yesterday I was playing in an online rapid tournament on chess.com and we arrived at a position where I could give a perpetual check but not a repittion of moves - because my opponent's King had a choice of two squares to go to. As my opponent had more time than me ( 6mns vs 5 mins) he proceeded to repeat a position twice and then push his King to the alternative square, repeat twice again and then go to the former square etc etc. We did more than 40 moves this way and I expected a pop up to advise a perpetual check situation and declare the draw but it did not happen. Apart from the poor sportsmanship showed by my opponent, isn't this a draw by perpetual check or am i mistaken?
Should have had a draw window pop up....draw by 3 move repetition doesn't have to be 3 consecutive moves, they can occur at any time during the game.
A draw by repition must be claimed by clicking on the draw button after a position has been reached for the third time.
After 34.Qf7+ you have reached the same position (with the same player on the move) for the third time - a clear draw!
Moreover, with two more checks (moves 78-79) you would reach a "fiffty-move rule" draw. It would be interesting to see if it would be enough for a draw.
You didn't claim the draw, but he is being a poor sportsman by continuing to play? Huh?
Yes I did claim a draw but it was declined by the opponent. IN fact I was surprised that he had a say in it!!
Exactly - so how come the 'system' did not flag the draw?
Please note that in actual tournament play (on the board) draw by repetition should be pointed out by one of the players. If no one claims it there is no draw even if the arbiter or anyone watching the game see it. I guess that's why chess.com makes us press the claim draw button.
You have to claim the draw after the position has reached the third repetition.
Once you "claim" it on here by pressing the draw button, does the system grant the draw or must your opponent 'accept' the drawn position as a draw?
If it is a valid claim the opponent does not have an option.
Thank you sir!
Love the winning chess tactic at the end!
by notmtwain a few minutes ago
Beware of a time waster
by Spiritbro77 a few minutes ago
9/26/2009 - Mate in 4
by Nanacc 3 minutes ago
Who is the best chess player ever?
by goldhorse 3 minutes ago
my awesome program is invincible!!!
by coneheadzombie 6 minutes ago
Why Russians are so good at chess.
by Conflagration_Planet 6 minutes ago
Why does White move first in chess ?
by mightaswell2202 7 minutes ago
by 90007000 7 minutes ago
12/10/2013 - Easterwood-Williams 2004
by Seegs 7 minutes ago
what do play against 1.e4 d5
by FirebrandX 11 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!