14257 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
"...it's the ONLY thing!" --Attributed to Vince Lombardi et al. in the sports world
I was in an over-the-board, USCF-rated tournament yesterday. During one of my games, I made an incredibly stupid blunder with one of my bishops, allowing my opponent to checkmate me in one move. I noticed this about 3 seconds too late.
The conundrum? My opponent had left the board vacant while I blundered. He was not there to witness my hand touching, moving, and leaving the errant bishop. No one else was, either. Six little words popped into my mind:
"Who saw you make that move?"
The answer is: NO ONE. I immediately thought of scribbling out the blunder on my scoresheet and making another move that would allow me to continue play. After all, my opponent was not there to witness it, so who'd be the wiser?
Then I thought: Why should I deprive my opponent of an honest victory, even if no one else was watching who could prove I did that? Winning is everything, yes?
I waited for my opponent to return and was checkmated. I chose to accept the loss instead of retracting my (legal) move and continuing the game after that.
Shut up, Vince Lombardi. For me, something else trumps winning: fair play.
I think it a wonderful moment of ethical integrity! Nice story, Ladya79!
Many people wouldn't think twice about retracting that move. Respect.
I suffered a similiar episode last year. I was playinng in a tournament, and went to move a piece. My finger touched and knocked over my King. By the rules i was obligated to move the King, which would have lost the bishop i meant to move.
I uprighted the King and moved it. My opponent looked at me and whispered "Wasnt that a mistake?" I told him yes, but i did touch the King. He said i could put the King back and move the bishop. We stopped the clock, got the TD, and went out into the hall and explained to him what happened. The TD said by the rules i was required to move the King, but since my opponent was allowing me to take it back as he knew it was a mistake, he would allow it. I wanted to still move the King, and he said if i did he would blunder a piece right back. So i mmoved the King, he blundered a piece right back and a draw ensued several moves later.
My opponent and I went and had dinner, and did some gambling. Friendships grow out of some strange circumstances.
Of course, the corrected quote is "winning isn't everything, but wanting to win is".
Very impressive Ladya - you are on your way to becoming a grandmaster
of the universe, and maybe you will be good at chess too.
Check this out:
Nevermind... Part of the interview is missing...
Winning isn't everything , respecting yourself is.
With what you did you gained the right to feel proud for yourself.
I wonder , how many can really claim this?
A display of honorable conduct from Ladya79; a very rare and respectable quality.
Kudos to you Ladya79.
The TD was wrong.
At issue is if you intentionally touched the piece, not if your finger brushed against it.
Ladya, I believe that you made a severe error.
You clearly do not believe your unegoistic moral action was intrinsically good. If you believed that what you did was good in and of itself, you would have performed the action and been done with it. If the action was truly good, performing it by itself should have been enough. Whether consciously or unconsciously, the moral action was not satisfying enough for you, so you elected to share your story with the denizens of chess.com so that you could be lauded with praise for being an upstanding citizen. Bravo! So now others can go out and imitate your actions without any thought to it, with the knowledge that they will receive praise from their peers for their delightful ethical actions.
I uprighted the King and moved it. My opponent looked at me and whispered "Wasnt that a mistake?" I told him yes, but i did touch the King. He said i could put the King back and move the bishop. We stopped the clock, got the TD, and went out into the hall and explained to him what happened. The TD said by the rules i was required to move the King, but since my opponent was allowing me to take it back as he knew it was a mistake, he would allow it.
The TD really needs to re-read the rules, as accidental touching is specifically mentioned in the rules on touch move and it doesn't count.
edit: of course, once you picked up the King and then proceeded to move it, that would have been touch-move, so maybe that is why the TD said that. You could have just moved what you intended to, after placing the King upright. If the opponent would have had trouble with that, then the TD would need to get involved and it should be ruled that the move stands, unless the opponent would have been purposely obtuse (which it appears yours wouldn't have been) and then some discretion would be involved.
To the OP, congrats on taking the ethical road.
I had a slightly similar thing happen in a tournament. I was up by two pawns and had a pretty good position against a lower rated opponent. I proceeded to play too quickly and blundered, giving my opponent a mate the following move. I made the comment, that "I think you have me" to which he offered me a draw. I didn't take and cautioned him on doing that in the future, as someone less scrupulous would have accepted it.
When I was in High School I was playing Board 1 for my High School team in a State tournament The team didn't do that well but I scored 4 1/2 out of 5 to tie for best 1st Board. I went to where the TD was and examined a big board that contained all the scores. Another fellow had me beat in tie-break. Just then the TD announced that I had won best 1st board. I grabbed the shiny trophy and said to my teammates "Let's get the hell out of here !" and ran for the nearest exit. When I got to the door my shoulders slumped and I shuffled back to the TD. I knew I would not enyoy that trophy.
How did the tournament over all go for you ladya79? Did you have fun?
I had a LOT of fun, and you know what? I managed to earn 1 tournament point because I got a full-point bye in the final round. There were not enough people to play all the other players there, so I got a break! :) I did complete a game in the "bye" round, but it was against one of the organizers of the tournament who wanted to make sure I got the chance to play.
That's awesome! :)
Question: Sometimes I hear and read about some grandmasters who cheat. WHY? I mean, they're so good at chess that cheating is pointless. Do they do it for $$$?
How Do I Get All my Chess Games Downloaded?
by sammynouri a few minutes ago
12/19/2013 - Marshall - Levitsky, Kongress 1912
by m_majid_khan 2 minutes ago
Queen sac! for two strong pawns.
by ancor3 3 minutes ago
Nakamura, The Future World CHamp??
by chessmicky 3 minutes ago
If you could go back.
by Soorat92 3 minutes ago
Which version of ChessMaster is the best?
by EscherehcsE 4 minutes ago
Embeding youtube videos
by Supreme_Commander_FS 4 minutes ago
More and more leave-game players
by Wielmozny 5 minutes ago
What were your "Aha!" Moments in your chess development?
by DelCheMethod 7 minutes ago
draw with "2300" engine
by CP6033 8 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!