Forums

The Etiquette of "Check"

Sort:
PhilipN

As a beginner, I was told (like most beginners) that it is mandatory to say "check" when you make a move that puts the other player in check.   Later, I learned somewhere that it would be bad etiquette to tell a master that he is in check.  Early this year, I went to a fundraiser for a semi-local school chess club that was sending some of its best to Nationals and SuperNationals (the only time I've ever had the chance to play OTB against someone else who takes the game seriously; we had to adjourn indefinitely on move 17).  While there, I heard that it's not mandatory to say announce check, but that it's considered good etiquette.  Then, a few months later, I got to visit with one of the top players from that school club, who told me that when he went to Nationals, he found that in that setting it was considered rude to say "check."

I'm confused.  When is it considered mandatory, good manners, or bad manners to announce check?

tarikhk

I don't shake hands, I tip my king. gotta stick with the classics.

chaosdreamer

any club / tournament setting it is consider rude to say check for 2 reasons, it breaks the silent atmosphere, and implies you don't think your opponent can see that he is in check. doesn't mater if they're rated 600 or 2800

Only time you should really talk during a tournament game is if you're offering a draw.

Ziryab

Sometimes in tournaments I say check. It causes everyone in the room to look. At larger, more serious tournaments, I restrain myself. In casual play I say check when I feel like being obnoxious.

sryiwannadraw

ive played against a 6 yr old asian kid recently and he did not say check, one b/c of atomshpere, and two b/c he took my king b/c i did not notice a pin, and i lost the game

so if your opponent does not see it then its game over,

p.s watch the game closely

Scarblac