10320 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I help out with my son's elementary school chess club, so I'm witness to many...um, interesting moves. A couple weeks ago, someone picked up his queen, moved it to a square attacking his opponent's king, and without letting go of the piece, said "Check!"
Then he realized it was a bad move and basically said "never mind," ending up moving the queen elsewhere. Since he never let go of the piece, if he hadn't said "check" it would have been perfectly fine. But since he said "check", it's more interesting.
What do you all think? Is this a touch-move violation? If a person says check, are they obligated to make a move that results in check? (assuming it was not an accident, thinking it was check when it wasn't)
I don't know of any rule that would force him to move it to a place that gives check.
There isn't a rule that you have to say check, and other than kids and beginners playing, it's not normally announced.
The old rule was that if you set the piece down on a square, you had to move to that square, but now you just have to move the piece.
Announcing "check" has no meaning whatsoever under the rules. Most players with any experience never announce it.
Read the rules ... how boring.....
Help me solve this gigantic hole in my repertoire: 1. Nf3 g6
by Spiffe a few minutes ago
Wo sind die deutschen???
by cabadenwurt 5 minutes ago
Help with Game analysis?
by Goldname 5 minutes ago
I score WAY better with the Black pieces
by DarklingSalmon 9 minutes ago
Staunton Sets from Japan in 1920?
by wiscmike 10 minutes ago
Do I have to buy Fritz every time a new one comes out?
by DarklingSalmon 12 minutes ago
Would Chess.com let you change your usernames a third time?
by RonaldJosephCote 14 minutes ago
Funny Chess Jokes
by ChessPlayinDude47 15 minutes ago
Bobby Fischer Lacked Creativity ?....How Dare Me !
by ISeeHowYourePinned 15 minutes ago
1000 GAMES SIMULTANEOUSLY
by marcomarco13 19 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!