9567 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
according to page 218 of the US Chess Federation's Official Rules of Chess 5th Edition http://www.uscfsales.com/product_p/b0012rh.htm
the "++" means checkmate.
Nah, those were what I mean.
um, there was discussion going as to whether "++" meant double check or checkmate. I just thought I'd see what the official rule book for the USCF says about it and post that." btw, the USCF is the governing body of chess in American and they are affiliated with FIDE, the governing body of chess around the world.
No distinction is given if someone creates a discovered attack that causes more than one piece to be the one that delivers the checkmate? I thought maybe they used to try to show that or something.
maybe they used too, but in the US Chess Federation's Official Rules of Chess 5th Edition, it doesn't.
You don't say.
++ last sympol of mate+- white gonna to win in little coming moves-+ black ............................................
+and beneath it - means white has advantage and vice versa !
++ or # both mean checkmate, although # is used more often
double checks by two rooks is impossible. In order to have a double check, you need a discovered check, which the king would already be in the rook's line of sight if he was to move to expose another rook
# is convention for mate.
If ++ were used for anything it would be mate, however I've rarely seen it used in place of #
I'm not aware of there being any mark for double check, if there is it wouldn't be ++ :)
no harm in adding new notations like ++.
Confusion would count as harm.
@vibhav_king: As given earlier, Chess.com's employment of symbols is technically correct. When double-check arises in-game, it is notated with the single plus symbol and not the double. The use of two plus symbols is unnecessary. The distinction between check and double-check is trivial, merely a curiosity. It does not alter the rules or play of the game, other than the subtle difference that a double-check must be resolved by somehow moving the King (which then may or may not capture one of the checking units).
5/21/2013 - The Power of Imagination
by FredHu a few minutes ago
How do you clean Vinyl Chessboard?
by InoYamanaka a few minutes ago
Draw spamming: So annoying!
by falcogrine a few minutes ago
by benedictus 2 minutes ago
why do people stall when they are losing?
by piotozz 3 minutes ago
Who's the best player of all time?
by Alec89 3 minutes ago
by hardpup 3 minutes ago
18 Queens and two Knights
by InoYamanaka 4 minutes ago
Is it possible that there are psychic chess masters
by falcogrine 4 minutes ago
Have you ever played chess with a bad Headache or Migraine?
by InoYamanaka 5 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com