12997 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
It's like you get caught by the bad guy but he has run out of ammunition so you get to escape with a draw where otherwise he would have won.
@OP: When neither player has enough material with which to checkmate, the game ends immediately, as a draw by insufficient material. The scenarios that cause this are:
1) King vs. King
2) King vs. King and Bishop
3) King vs. King and Knight
4) King and Bishop vs. King and Bishop, if both Bishops travel on the same color squares.
Never offer a draw in King vs King + bishop! There's a chance your opponent could mess up and you'd win. Remember, no one ever won a game by drawing!
thanks, every reply was helpful.
@OP: Except for waffllemaster's post, which is apparently an attempt at jocularity. Just to clarify: the scenario King vs. King and Bishop is an automatic draw, so you will not be given an opportunity to offer a draw.
Ever play Pictionary?
It does not have to be both sides with insufficient material.
If your opponent has a king and a pawn and you have a king you cannot deliver checkmate (material insufficient) but your opponent could queen his or her pawn so their material is not insufficient.
But if they take so long trying to queen the pawn and deliver mate that they run out of time they would normally then lose the game on time. But, because of the insufficient material rule they do not lose, instead the game is a draw.
This rule seems to cause much annoyance as there is an indignant thread started about it here on many days.
This is true. When one side runs out of time, more scenarios are included in the insufficient material rule. The four I explained above do not necessarily take running out of time into consideration.
by mauve_penguin 5 minutes ago
Black Holes---- are you in or out ?
by Fiveofswords 7 minutes ago
9/22/2014 - Mate in 2
by gabbysdadUSA 10 minutes ago
Chess channels recommendable for those who want to improve (See post #1)
by idreesarif 26 minutes ago
Chess Sets Addiction-Does Your Wife Or Girlfriend...?
by Cogwheel 30 minutes ago
True or false? Chess will never be solved! why?
by SmyslovFan 31 minutes ago
Can someone give me a crash course on 2 bishops #?
by LongIslandMark 36 minutes ago
BLOCKING ADS? WELL PLAYED...
by LongIslandMark 38 minutes ago
by sabinemarks 44 minutes ago
My wins against NM!!
by SmyslovFan 46 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!