Forums

Live Chess, One Move Resign is Point Loss?

Sort:
burns123

I've been playing at this site for almost 2 years now and I have to say that I wont be playing here anymore and am glad I didnt sign up for one of your memberships.  I didnt have time to play a game earlier so I resigned after the first move and got deducted 12 points for it?  These are 3 min games so its not like peoples times are being wasted.  This is an online free chess site not fidelivechessforfree.com

Get over yourselves.

Martin_Stahl

It probably has to do with the Fair Play policy which used to just make it so you can't play any live games, except with friends, if you abort too many games or let the time run out instead of playing to the end on to many games.

Now, if you get caught by the policy you just have the option to resign instead of abort.

Now, I'm pretty sure when you accept someone's seek and abort/resign immediately, they have to recreate a seek if they really want to play a game. So in essence, you do waste someone's time by aborting/resigning.

The policy was put into place because of the scope of the number of people who do that a lot. It was modified since locking people out of Live was causing more issues with support (from my standpoint reading some topics here). Now they just make it cost a little bit and gives some benefit to the person that now has to go out and start a new game.

And ratings are just points. They aren't that important. Before you start a seek or accept one, make sure you have the time to way up to 6 minutes (for your 3 | 0 games) or don't accept it. As you said, it is a free site (if you decide to just view the ads instead of paying a membership).

whirlwind2011

@OP: You would do well to re-evaluate who needs to "get over" oneself. Ratings points are not money or prestige. Why did you rant over 12 points?