Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Malware Detected!

Jump to forum:
 
12th December 2008, 07:54am
#1
by onosson
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Member Since: Oct 2007
Member Points: 728

While browsing chess.com lately, I have been getting the following warning page quite frequently (using chrome):

 

Warning: Visiting this site may harm your computer!
The website at www.chess.com contains elements from the site wgm-mediaserver1.com, which appears to host malware

 

The particular site listed might not be the same every time (I haven't kept track), but this has happened perhaps 6-7 times in the past couple of weeks.  I'm not really too worried personally, but I thought someone might want to know...

12th December 2008, 08:33am
#2
by Slade_Wilson
Grand Rapids United States
Member Since: Nov 2008
Member Points: 5

I believe this is a bug with chrome, that has happaned elsewhere as well.

12th December 2008, 08:42am
#3
by xMenace
Rothesay, NB Canada
Member Since: Aug 2008
Member Points: 846

Upgrade and do away with the ads.

12th December 2008, 09:11am
#4
by Baseballfan
Durham, North Carolina United States
Member Since: Feb 2008
Member Points: 1872

This is actually typically a problem with Norton AV, if you are using that, I might recommend switching... either way, heres more information on this issue: http://support.chess.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=699 

But, long story short, you are probably fine.

12th December 2008, 09:47am
#5
by onosson
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Member Since: Oct 2007
Member Points: 728

No, I don't use Norton, and I'm not worried or concerned.  But I thought the staff here would want to know, that's all.

 

Add your comment:

Join Chess.com for free to add your comment! Already a member? Then login now to comment.