10255 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I heard a rumour about a new chess.com rule that once you have joined a group vote chess game, you can't become a member of the opposing team, or you get removed from the game?I haven't seen any official announcement by chess.com, but I could have missed it. Can anybody confirm or deny this? Thanks!
Interesting! I have searched the FAQs, but I can't find the rules dealing with being a member of both teams playing a VC game. An official overview would be useful!
This has been a rule for quite some time, AFAIK. Why would you want to be on both sides of the same vote chess game, if not to cheat?
Are you entirely sure that it is/was possible for a player to play on both sides with only one account?
No no no no you misunderstand.This not about playing for both sides in the same game, that is impossible.This is about playing for one side, while also being a group member of the opposing side.
Thanks for clearing that up. What you are asking about is possible because it happened to me:
1. Join group A
2. Join group A's vote chess game against Group B.
3. Join group B.
Thanks!Now the rumour is that there is a new rule:4. You get booted out of the vote chess game A vs. B.And I am looking for chess.com to confirm or deny this.
I've not heard anything about it, harsh but fair if implemented IMO.
PrawnEatsPrawn, how long ago was that that you managed to join the group of a team you were playing against?
3 or 4 months ago, it was an innocent coincidence.
We just heard about this new rule today, so maybe things have changed recently.
I have been a member of each of two groups that played each other in vote chess. It was "KIA inc" vs "1...b6" I played on the 1...b6 team (remember). I was already a member of each group when the game started.
The situation is different if you are an admin. Recently, as super admin of a group, I tried to challenge a different group (in which I am an admin) to a vote game and the system would not allow it.
I know there have been times when a member of an opponent team in a vote game joined my group. But I'm not sure if it was during the game or after it.
The longer I think about this the more I can remember cases in which a member played for the opponent team while also being a member of the group I played in. These were recent (within the past couple of months).
Recently, as super admin of a group, I tried to challenge a different group (in which I am an admin) to a vote game and the system would not allow it.
I did a bit of experimenting, and I think the situation is this. You cannot send a vote chess challenge from one team to another where both teams share a common Super Admin. However, you can send a vote chess challenge to a team where one of your team's Super Admins is only an admin on their team as long as you yourself are not an admin on both teams.
Rule #2 : DON'T TALK ABOUT VOTE CHESS!
You guys are gonna get it
this seems all wrong
atudor informs me that it is possible for an admin who is not a member of the other team to send a vote chess challenge to a team with which your team shares a common Super Admin. The system seems to block this though if the receiving team only has one Super Admin who is also a Super Admin on the sending team.
Please add QUANTITY for new game seeks
by chungle a few minutes ago
How do I go about studying the middlegame
by davebrah 5 minutes ago
Question about rating change
by frrixz 8 minutes ago
Bullet rating decrease
by Mersaphe 12 minutes ago
Borislav Ivanov is BACK!
by FirebrandX 13 minutes ago
by chungle 19 minutes ago
what the #$%^was he playing and how did he win?
by QueenTakesKnightOOPS 22 minutes ago
12/11/2013 - Topalov-Kramnik, Dortmund 1996
by GSERGIO 23 minutes ago
by AndyClifton 26 minutes ago
Where to find live chess feeds
by chungle 26 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!