Spam Settings

Jump to forum:
 
29th September 2008, 03:32pm
#1
by BasicLvrCH8r
Kansas United States
Member Since: Sep 2007
Member Points: 1605

I have been getting constant spam from events@eventful.com. I have marked that address as a blacklisted sender, but I continue to get messages from it. Why is this?

29th September 2008, 04:06pm
#2
by erik
Mountain View, CA United States
Member Since: May 2007
Member Points: 10172

getting this on your chess.com email address?

1st October 2008, 05:13pm
#3
by BasicLvrCH8r
Kansas United States
Member Since: Sep 2007
Member Points: 1605

Yes.

1st October 2008, 05:43pm
#4
by fzweb
Home Australia
Member Since: Dec 2007
Member Points: 765

There are certain types of email that are sent across different email addresses (spammers can mask the true address of where the email originated from). The chess.com server might register the email as coming from the fake address. There is software to find out the real address emails come from but I'm not sure if that will support webmail (e.g Gmail, chess.com email, etc.)

2nd October 2008, 03:39pm
#5
by BasicLvrCH8r
Kansas United States
Member Since: Sep 2007
Member Points: 1605

Yes, spoofing. Still, if I block the "fake address", if chess.com deems the email as from that address, then the message will be marked as spam.

2nd October 2008, 03:58pm
#6
by tbierig
St. Paul, Minnesota United States
Member Since: Nov 2007
Member Points: 369

I like a healthy dose of transcritical bifurcation in my morning coffee.

2nd October 2008, 04:24pm
#7
by BasicLvrCH8r
Kansas United States
Member Since: Sep 2007
Member Points: 1605

That has nothing to do with spamming.

2nd October 2008, 04:34pm
#8
by fzweb
Home Australia
Member Since: Dec 2007
Member Points: 765
BasicLvrCH8r wrote:

Yes, spoofing. Still, if I block the "fake address", if chess.com deems the email as from that address, then the message will be marked as spam.


Ok...err...let me clarify what I said before. The email interface displays the fake address but maybe the server identifies it has the real address. I have never received such spoofed emails so I won't really be able to help here.

 

Add your comment:

Join Chess.com for free to add your comment! Already a member? Then login now to comment.