12607 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
my last game end by draw due to unsufficient material although i won by time and i have many pieces, and that is not the first time for that unjustice
That just doesnt sound right to me.
dont worry...U ,ll be Bottle,sooner or later.
amora77 there was no injustice done, your opponent timed out but you only had a king and knight, which is impossible to checkmate with so by default it is a draw
I really wish I knew what that meant. Is being a bottle some sort of a German joke?
A DRAW IS MET WHEN EACH PLAYER CAN NOT MAKE ANY LEGAL MOVE
That is wrong. A king vs king and bishop is a draw, even if both sides can make several legal moves. Actually, king vs king is a draw and there should be many legal moves.
Opponent still had a rook.
Hydra is very patient.
Scott you put the knight on the wrong square. It needs to be on c2. There it can be taken by the rook!
Doh! But yeah, the principle is the game can be won with just a knight if your opponent still has a piece.
I'm not an expert on the rules, but I think this might be one of the exceptional cases which are specified.
K+B+N v K is a win by force for white if he knows how to do it, and if black's flag falls here then white wins, that's clear cut.
K+N+N v K is not a win by force, black can defend easily, however it is possible for white to mate if black cooperates. I'm pretty sure that the rules specify that if black's flag falls here the game is drawn, as it's a known easy draw.
I'm wondering if K+N v K+R falls under the same category, and that's why this was awarded as a draw by the computer. I'm not entirely sure about this but it's the only explanation I can think of. Any arbiters or rules geeks out there who can clarify?
There are two rules, insufficient material (applicable after the flag falls) and insufficient losing chances (applicable before the flag falls). It is not practical for Chess.com to implement the insufficient losing chances rule. Therefore, conditions that would satisfy this rule are considered drawn even though the flag has fallen. Note: the above is USCF wording; FIDE has similar rules.
By insufficient losing chances, I take it you mean the scenario where a player is short on time but his opponent has no reasonable way to win, so he calls the arbiter over and claims a draw, and it's then up to the arbiter to decide whether to award it or not?
Yes that makes sense, this position would be awarded a draw by an arbiter, so the computer has called it drawn. I see what you mean.
That's correct. Under FIDE rules, the OP's game would have been a win for black after white's flag had fallen because checkmate is possible by a series of legal moves (FIDE does not require that checkmate be forced or that the best moves be played). However, white could have claimed a draw before their flag fell because of insufficient losing chances.
Chess Is Garbage, Here Are My Own Openings
by tomas_janacek a few minutes ago
quick Q: Ruy X
by AssauIt a few minutes ago
12/8/2013 - Boxed In
by BlueEnergy123 a few minutes ago
Forum Discussion 4
by SwellGuyIsBoss 5 minutes ago
by TasmanianTiger 9 minutes ago
by SwellGuyIsBoss 9 minutes ago
post your funniest illegal games here!!!!!!!!
by chesssmart82 9 minutes ago
My "new" openings
by XXSilent_AssassinXX 12 minutes ago
by I-eat-guini-pigs 14 minutes ago
1st Unofficial Chess.com Swiss Championships
by cmtavernier 14 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!