Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Why can't I castle?


  • 4 years ago · Quote · #1

    Henster97

    I would like to know why I can't castle in this position(I know it's a bad one). I haven't moved the king before in the game but the computer won't let me castle. I am playing black. Any help would be much appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Henster 
  • 4 years ago · Quote · #2

    rooperi

    The king cannot move over the f8 square, which is covered by the queen

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #3

    Henster97

    rooperi wrote:

    The king cannot move over the f8 square, which is covered by the queen


    Thanks! I must admit that I wasn't aware of that rule in chess.

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #4

    Dragec

    You can't castle because of "Article 3.8 b (2) a" of the Fide laws of chess.
  • 3 years ago · Quote · #5

    SchofieldKid

    Your king can not pass through check  as in real life which chess is often based of of the queen would snag it. A similar rule is en passant (should check that one too) and the idea behind that is, is that when the pawn was moving up to the rank of the other pawn it could be taken in real life combat.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #6

    h777

    rooperi wrote:

    The king cannot move over the f8 square, which is covered by the queen


    SAme as what I was going to type.


Back to Top

Post your reply: