Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Draw when there is no draw


  • 5 months ago · Quote · #21

    omnipaul

    Note all of these rules that everyone is bringing up.  This is a lot to be able to program, and without a proper "arbiter," nothing is going to be perfect.  This site has instituted an approximation to these rules that is meant to be close to the expected results, reasonably fair and balanced, and also streamlined to implement.  You can see the specifics on the following blog post from over two years ago.  If you have a problem with how chess.com has implemented their system, then take it up with them.  As far as I'm concerned, they've done the best they can given the conditions.

     

    http://www.chess.com/blog/webmaster/live-chess-gets-some-love

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #22

    woton

    r_k_ting wrote:

     

    ...So you see, even under USCF rules, K+B vs. K+N is not declared a draw for reasons of time... "

    Take a look at 14E.2 under "Insufficient material to win on time."  (Another deviation from FIDE rules)

    Edit:  14E.2 specifically states that K+B vs K+N is a draw unless there is a forced win.  Under FIDE rules, it could be a win because checkmate is possible by a series of legal moves.

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #23

    TBentley

    r_k_ting wrote:
    woton wrote:

    You are correct in saying that Chess.com rules are different from FIDE rules.  But then, USCF rules are also different from FIDE rules (USCF's equivalent of 10.2.a is applicable to blitz with no supervision required).  There is no single set of chess rules.  

    Actually the USCF rules on insufficent losing chances change when applied to blitz. 

    c. “Insufficient Losing Chances” (ILC) claims will be allowed only under the following conditions: 

    1) If both players each have just one identical piece and if neither side can show a forced win. 

    2) In K+Bishop vs K+Bishop and the Bishops are of opposite colors, with only one Pawn on the board, provided that no forced win can be demonstrated. 

    3) K+Rook Pawn vs K can be claimed as a draw once the defender's King is on the Rook file in front of the Pawn. K+Pawn vs K can be claimed as a draw once the defender is on the square directly in front of the Pawn, as long as the Pawn is not on the 7th rank. 

    4) K+R+Rook Pawn vs K+R is a draw if the Pawn is blockaded by the King and there is no immediate win demonstrated. 

    So you see, even under USCF rules, K+B vs. K+N is not declared a draw for reasons of time. If you believe that chess.com is entitled to invent new laws of chess, then I suppose it's your prerogative to make that arugment.

    Chess.com basically has invented a new rule. If I remember correctly, if both players have no more than K+B, K+N, or K+N+N, it's a draw. On second thought, I think this applies when the opponent runs out of time.

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #24

    Holm_inator

    As I said, the game was automatically drawn when I promoted to a queen - that is how it appeared to me. Same thing has happened lots of times before. I still have material and time to deliver a checkmate, so why I am not allowed to do that? If it´s an error of some sort, ok. If it´s meant to be that way, I don´t understand it. It doesn´t really matter who loses on time; it´s still a strange thing. I would not deserve a draw if my opponent has enough material to checkmate me. So why I am offered a draw? Again, this seems to me to be some sort of strange compromise. All these rules about drawn positions are unproblematic - this is not what I am talking about. 

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #25

    omnipaul

    It's possible there was an issue with lag and/or pre-moves which made it seem as if you had more time than you thought.  Did you ever see black's last move during the game?  It sounds like you didn't - you say that the game was automatically drawn when you promoted.  If you didn't see that king move that came after the promotion, then you were probably suffering from lag making it appear that the draw was declared as a result of your move instead of as a result of your running out of time.

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #26

    woton

    Holm_inator wrote:

    As I said, the game was automatically drawn when I promoted to a queen - that is how it appeared to me. Same thing has happened lots of times before. I still have material and time to deliver a checkmate, so why I am not allowed to do that? If it´s an error of some sort, ok. If it´s meant to be that way, I don´t understand it. It doesn´t really matter who loses on time; it´s still a strange thing. I would not deserve a draw if my opponent has enough material to checkmate me. So why I am offered a draw? Again, this seems to me to be some sort of strange compromise. All these rules about drawn positions are unproblematic - this is not what I am talking about. 

    If you had time left on your clock, it should not have been a draw.  Submit a ticket and let the staff investigate.

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #27

    yeres30

    Holm_inator wrote:

    Where can you see that white ran out of time? As far as I remember, we both had some time left. The game was automatically drawn when I promoted.

    Sorry, Game Drawn - Insufficient Material means that you run out of time.

  • 6 weeks ago · Quote · #28

    Kaspaviglia

    Hello!

    I wonder if someone can explain why in this game:

    http://www.chess.com/echess/game?id=85532764

    where white had no chance, it suddenly finished as draw just after a pawn promoted.

    Thank you.

  • 6 weeks ago · Quote · #29

    hamstergang

    Kaspaviglia wrote:

    Hello!

    I wonder if someone can explain why in this game:

    http://www.chess.com/echess/game?id=85532764

    where white had no chance, it suddenly finished as draw just after a pawn promoted.

    Thank you.

    It says the answer right there, next to the board: "Game drawn by stalemate."

  • 6 weeks ago · Quote · #30

    harryz

    Kaspaviglia wrote:

    Hello!

    I wonder if someone can explain why in this game:

    http://www.chess.com/echess/game?id=85532764

    where white had no chance, it suddenly finished as draw just after a pawn promoted.

    Thank you.

    White had no legal moves but was not in check, so therefore it was a stalemate, which is a draw

  • 5 weeks ago · Quote · #31

    Kaspaviglia

    Did not see it! It is true. Thank you all!


Back to Top

Post your reply: