10879 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
How on Earth did this happen?
Once it happens the third time, YOU have to click on the draw button. Just like in a real game, YOU would have to claim the draw, in case your opponent didn't know about it.
Ah, I see...
It happened to me once but i didnt want to draw so i didntclaim it.Neither my opponent(he didn't knowthat he should claim it or he didn't want) so we played the same position over and over again tll he changed the moveorder and i won
It's one I've never seen before... Any other computerized chess platform I've played on ends the game after a three fold repeat.
So, three times and you can click Draw..? I have heard of this, had it happen, and the draw button did not work for me. It just asked for the draw, and he/she ignored it, and the game went on. Dont mean to sound dumb, but how specifically does this feature work and when exactly do you have to claim the draw, and how do you do it, just click draw?
One time I got so excited to click "draw" in a similar situation but accidentally hit the "resign" button instead.
Also, I am blasting Love Attack by Ferrara (1979) on 12" single LP right now ..
you probably pushed the button after Rc4 while the repeatation happened with the Bishop so claimingthe draw isn't right since you got out of the repeating position
Yeah, not sure that was the game I was speaking of. I honestly don’t recall which game it was. Can this be accomplished if the set of moves goes to four? or do you have to be on it at three exact. I think in the game I was speaking of, I wanted to be sure it would work, and I may have allowed the repeating moves to have occurred four times. I was looking for the draw button to light up, but it it did not. No big deal, just a handy tool to stop a game that will go nowhere.
On this note, I have a ethic question. Is repeating a move like this (if it is in fact your only and best move) appropriate. Who is customarily supposed to be the one who concedes to the weaker position? I have been the "victim" of this, and Ill admit I may have done it myself once also. So, to be the better player (at least in terms of good sportsmanship), what is the general rule here?
Draw or stalemate=However the situation will blow you away
you can claim the draw after 3 or 3+ repeatitions of the position unless the position changes
Just had a problem with this, and I know that you have to click "draw" to take it ;)Seems the program falsly thinks you have to play the same series of moves three times, instead of getting the same position three times.
STUPID DISFUCNTIONAL WEBSITE PART ii
by Willzilla87 a few minutes ago
Best Chess.com avatars ever!
by trysts 2 minutes ago
Game with study-like pawns vs. Bishop endgame
by leiph18 5 minutes ago
Every fool can win in blitz chess !
by umirin1991 6 minutes ago
by cdhimbela 15 minutes ago
Post your best miniatures here
by Pikay 16 minutes ago
My new checkmate that I invinted
by Pikay 18 minutes ago
Luck in Chess
by Colin20G 24 minutes ago
3/31/2015 - Making Space, Mate in 2
by glsmith 27 minutes ago
Outcome of de la Maza's Seven Circles Program
by hicetnunc 36 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!