Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Have the people who programmed this not heard of a threefold repetition?


  • 2 years ago · Quote · #1

    prometheus888

    How on Earth did this happen?

    33.Kf2Bd3
    34.Kg1Bc4
    35.Kf2Bd3
    36.Kg1Bc4
    37.Kf2Bd3
    38.Kg1Bc4
    39.Kf2Bd3
    40.Kg1Bc4
    41.Kf2Bd3
    42.Kg1Bc4
    43.Kf2Bd3
    44.Kg1Bc4
    45.Kf2Bd3
    46.Kg1Bc4
    47.Kf2Bd3
    48.Kg1Bc4
    49.Kf2Bd3
    50.Kg1Bc4
    51.Kf2Bd3
    52.Kg1Bc4
    53.Kh2Rh8
    54.Kg1Bd3
    55.Kf2Rc8
    56.Ra3Bc4
    57.Raa1Bd3
    58.Kg1Bc4
    59.Kf2Bd3
    60.Kg1Bc4
    61.Kf2Bd3
    62.Kg1Bc4
    63.Kf2Bd3
    64.Kg1Bc4
    65.Kf2Bd3
    66.Kg1Rc4

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #2

    Master_Po

    Once it happens the third time, YOU have to click on the draw button.  Just like in a real game, YOU would have to claim the draw, in case your opponent didn't know about it. 

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #3

    prometheus888

    Ah, I see...

     Thank you..

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #4

    GreenLeaf14

    It happened to me once but i didnt want to draw so i didntclaim it.Neither my opponent(he didn't knowthat he should claim it or he didn't want) so we played the same position over and over again tll he changed the moveorder and i won

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #5

    prometheus888

    It's one I've never seen before...  Any other computerized chess platform I've played on ends the game after a three fold repeat.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #6

    Roamingbull

    So, three times and you can click Draw..? I have heard of this, had it happen, and the draw button did not work for me. It just asked for the draw, and he/she ignored it, and the game went on. Dont mean to sound dumb, but how specifically does this feature work and when exactly do you have to claim the draw, and how do you do it, just click draw?

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #7

    johnmusacha

    One time I got so excited to click "draw" in a similar situation but accidentally hit the "resign" button instead. 

    Also, I am blasting Love Attack by Ferrara (1979) on 12" single LP right now ..

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #8

    GreenLeaf14

    Roamingbull wrote:

    So, three times and you can click Draw..? I have heard of this, had it happen, and the draw button did not work for me. It just asked for the draw, and he/she ignored it, and the game went on. Dont mean to sound dumb, but how specifically does this feature work and when exactly do you have to claim the draw, and how do you do it, just click draw?

    you probably pushed the button after Rc4 while the repeatation happened with the Bishop so claimingthe  draw  isn't right since you got out of the repeating position

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #9

    Roamingbull

    Yeah, not sure that was the game I was speaking of. I honestly don’t recall which game it was. Can this be accomplished if the set of moves goes to four? or do you have to be on it at three exact. I think in the game I was speaking of, I wanted to be sure it would work, and I may have allowed the repeating moves to have occurred four times. I was looking for the draw button to light up, but it it did not. No big deal, just a handy tool to stop a game that will go nowhere.


    On this note, I have a ethic question. Is repeating a move like this (if it is in fact your only and best move) appropriate. Who is customarily supposed to be the one who concedes to the weaker position? I have been the "victim" of this, and Ill admit I may have done it myself once also. So, to be the better player (at least in terms of good sportsmanship), what is the general rule here?

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #10

    PLAVIN79

    Draw or stalemate=However the situation will blow you awayCry

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #11

    GreenLeaf14

    Roamingbull wrote:

    Yeah, not sure that was the game I was speaking of. I honestly don’t recall which game it was. Can this be accomplished if the set of moves goes to four? or do you have to be on it at three exact. I think in the game I was speaking of, I wanted to be sure it would work, and I may have allowed the repeating moves to have occurred four times. I was looking for the draw button to light up, but it it did not. No big deal, just a handy tool to stop a game that will go nowhere.


    On this note, I have a ethic question. Is repeating a move like this (if it is in fact your only and best move) appropriate. Who is customarily supposed to be the one who concedes to the weaker position? I have been the "victim" of this, and Ill admit I may have done it myself once also. So, to be the better player (at least in terms of good sportsmanship), what is the general rule here?

    you can claim the draw after 3 or 3+ repeatitions of the position  unless the position changes

  • 20 months ago · Quote · #12

    feastwood

    Just had a problem with this, and I know that you have to click "draw" to take it ;)

    Seems the program falsly thinks you have to play the same series of moves three times, instead of getting the same position three times.


Back to Top

Post your reply: