Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Why do so many players decline the rematch in Bullet?

• 2 years ago · Quote · #1

imajinit

This has no doubt been addressed before, but I'm fairly new to chess.com, so I'm going to ask anyway.

Why Why Why do so many players decline a rematch in bullet?  in the case of a 1 minute game, why would you NOT play again, regardless of the outcome?  This is a source of frustration not just for me, but for many other players.  If anyone can explain the reasoning behind only playing one game and then running off to play someone else, I would really appreciate it.

The WORST of these is the people who have their ratings options set to deliberately play against players with ratings 100-200 points below their own.  They win 1 game, and then refuse to play again.  What is the point?  Why are you CHOOSING to play against weaker players, but refusing to give them another chance to play you?  It may have been one mistake that cost them the game, and off you go, taking away any shot at redemption.  

bottom line, it's a 1 minute game.  What do you stand to lose by playing another game.  You're online to play chess, you have a willing opponent in front of you, but you would rather play against someone else.  It makes no sense.

I will take the rematch about 90% of the time... really only declining if I have to step away for something legit.. and even then, I'll usually squeeze in the game real quick, since I know it's only going to take 2 minutes.  

it sure appears cowardly to run from a challenge.  

• 2 years ago · Quote · #2

Ziryab

I am looking for efforts to play solid chess VERY fast. I am looking to do so against players who are not lagging. When both these conditions are met, I almost never decline a rematch (declining only when I must be somewhere else).

Because of my conditions, I decline most rematches.

Due to lag, these games often take 2 1/2 - 3 minutes or even longer. Yes, I have timed them.

• 2 years ago · Quote · #3

waffllemaster