17130 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I would imagine USCF rules would be specific enough to state that mate must be impossible regardless of the play of both sides -- I'm not sure what else the definition would be. The given position doesn't meet that definition because mate is possible depending on how both sides play.
Whether a king and knight will be theoretically enough material to mate will depend on the position the other side has.
I know, 50 move rule!!
I know, 50 move rule!!(Or for some reason repetition)
Here's an example of FIDE ruling that white's clock in this situation would not be a draw. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monika_So%C4%87ko#Rules_appeal_in_2008
It seems like USCF policy is different, and is somewhat controversial. It requires a forced win. That means 2 kings and 2 knights is a draw if time runs out, unlike the FIDE ruling above. Still, the puzzle I made would be a win for black, but only because a win is forceable. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rules_of_chess#Timing
So I was wrong: white to play and lose, not draw. Except on live chess on the internets. End thread.
My solution stands, I successfully drew the position!
Nice to know Socko got things straightened out
I did like your solution best.
A thorough refutation, at least over the board. All of white's legal moves lose.
1.a4 Nc2#1.Na4 Nc2#1.Nb5 Nc2#1.Nd5 Nc2#1.Ne4 Nc2#1.N3e2 Nc2#1.Nd1 Nc2#1.N1e2 Nc2# (1...Nb3#)1.Nd3 Nc2# (1...Nb3#)1.Nb3 Nc2# (1...Nxb3#)
So there must be some trickery going on off the board...
since white's previous mov cud b only one of the nights, i will call myself as blunder king and buy some dozen books on 'how to avoid blunders' and spend rest of the life reading them!!
Worst thread ever
Who Will Win The 2015 Sinquefield Cup?
by Vibhav_G a few minutes ago
Discrimination in chess M/F?
by thundercobra 2 minutes ago
am I adding to my blunder?
by notmtwain 4 minutes ago
There's a New Clock A'comin
by guardianx9 6 minutes ago
How to analyze.
by notmtwain 7 minutes ago
Auto play only legal move
by PossibleOatmeal 9 minutes ago
Review: Official Staunton Morphy Boxwood and Sheesham Chess Set
by cgrau 12 minutes ago
Am I an aggressive chess player?
by SenpaiOfDoom 12 minutes ago
8/30/2015 - Corner Pocket
by 2007chess 15 minutes ago
Slow loading speed on PC due to fbook etc.
by kayak21 18 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!