12919 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I recently came across this puzzle by Karl Fabel. It had me foxed - see if you can work it out.
White to move and NOT checkmate!
I apologize for being blind.
It seems that he can't put that rook any where, only on that location on the sixth rank. so that bishop check is blocked when the rook move to take.
No, if he moves the rook anywhere else, black's rook is pinned by the bishop on a8.
That's funny. I posted this same puzzle here several hours before you did. Rook c6
How bizarre. I promise I didn't copy it from your posting but I admit I didn't check the forums before posting it.
Having checked now, it's been posted at least twice before.
Great minds think alike, obviously .
:) I'm not offended. It's just odd. I "discovered" that puzzle in a book last night
I "discovered" that puzzle in a book last night
Curiouser and curiouser. It wasn't a book of articles by Martin Gardner was it ?
This has 3 answers really, other than Rc6 you could also Resign, or offer a draw, and not checkmate them, and if it is timed, u could let your clock run out for a 4th way to not win.
I've seen this puzzle several times before, but am curious about helpmate possibilities. I wonder, what's the fewest number of moves in which the White king can be checkmated? The best I can do is 5 moves (see "analysis" below), but 4-movers may exist :)
Why yes it was. An annoyingly hard and improbably solvable book!
Why did the rook have to be in the c file? I put it in the d file, and got it wrong.
The rook has to move to c6 in order that the black rook on b7b is no longer pinned by white's a8-bishop. Otherwise black cannot move it to capture the h7-bishop.
Leave it to me to miss the obvious.
white has two light squared bishops..
ah, good point :)
Not true. The problem statement is "White TO MOVE and not mate Black". If you don't make a move, then you haven't followed the instructions.
Can you be a dumb person and still be good at chess?
by Venus-rat-trap 5 minutes ago
English vs Queen's Gambit
by cruelpulse 9 minutes ago
1/27/2015 - Boris Spassky vs Arnulf Westermeier, Germany, 1982
by nicknesarthegreat 10 minutes ago
Rules re Asking for Resignation
by Commander_Riker 14 minutes ago
Admins: Spam alert, you may wish to check this
by adamplenty 17 minutes ago
8/3/2014 - Mate in 2
by princetonlion 26 minutes ago
facebook is down
by RonaldJosephCote 26 minutes ago
gg = Rub It In?
by AlkinKing 34 minutes ago
Wei Yi is on the rise
by incantevoleutopia 35 minutes ago
Looking for 1800ish online player unrated
by Wilbert_78 35 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!