16133 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
What's wrong with this position:
It's an illegal position.
I suppose with the capture it's a legal position. Legal, but 7... Nf8 looks like a better move.
Now, my friend, your illegalness has been refuted.
Yes it has. In fact, it could have been any capture except for a pawn and the dark squared bishop.
Most people already understand this, but it can't be a pawn since the white king would be in check. It can't be the dark squared bishop since it'd have to move to e7 from f8, which would mean the white king can't be on d6. No other piece can start on a square that checks the white king.
The queen has to start on e1 - e4 or e8, or she can be on f7-h7 (8 squares). The rook can start on e1 - e5 or e8, or f7 - h7 (9 squares). The knight can start on c6, d5, g7, or g8 (4 squares). So we have 21 possible positions that could result in this mate.
Also, this is much simplier diagram. :-p
Oh, the cxd7+ brings in more possibilities, including the light squared bishop! It looks like if we have a capture on the first turn, we have more possible positions than I care to consider.
Alright, well, here's an easy one: Is this a legal position?
I'm going to have to try to make a harder one soon.
Yes. A white pawn was underpromoted to a bishop.
Here is the original legal/illegal thread-
7/29/2014 - Full House
by Cambavision a few minutes ago
Someone please murder me
by December_TwentyNine 2 minutes ago
QUICK FINISH: GM Maxim Dlugy (White) to move
by yeres30 7 minutes ago
If you could invent a chess piece, what would it be?
by AKAL1 8 minutes ago
I Don't See the Point of the Touch-Move Rule
by December_TwentyNine 9 minutes ago
How to best continue this position?
by Fiveofswords 10 minutes ago
by sheerluckhomes 12 minutes ago
The Spock Fallacy
by Ziggy_Zugzwang 15 minutes ago
White to move and win
by DEATHW1SH 21 minutes ago
by rohitashghintala 22 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!