Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

FIDE changed the rules!


  • 7 years ago · Quote · #1

    pawnshover

    This puzzle is one of the reasons FIDE changed the chess rule about promoting. NOW the rule says pawns must promote to a piece of the SAME color!


  • 7 years ago · Quote · #2

    erik

    explain?

     


  • 7 years ago · Quote · #3

    maiona

    He means before the change in the rules, white could promote to a black knight, which would be mate for white
  • 7 years ago · Quote · #4

    MolotovRuss

     

    Ahh I see, of that's very clever. I didn't even know you could promote to an opposite-coloured piece though? Now, from this though, I can see why. 


  • 7 years ago · Quote · #5

    chewybac5

    Wow ive never even considered promoting to a piece of the opposite color before, good to know that you cant and I wont have to worry about that position in any real game
  • 7 years ago · Quote · #6

    chesspunk04

    I'm pretty hot on chess history. Now i'm not disagreeing with you, but i've never known of that rule before. The rules that we use now havn't changed since the 1600's and the days of Phillidor, way before FIDE existed. Have you proof of this? I'm intrigued.
  • 7 years ago · Quote · #7

    chewybac5

    jona004 wrote: I'm pretty hot on chess history. Now i'm not disagreeing with you, but i've never known of that rule before. The rules that we use now havn't changed since the 1600's and the days of Phillidor, way before FIDE existed. Have you proof of this? I'm intrigued.

    I concur it seems illogical that a set of rules would be written which allow promotion to a different color.


  • 7 years ago · Quote · #8

    WEdgards

    It also seems unlikely that there would have been a rule about NOT promoting to the opposite colour. :)

    "But nothing says I can't!"


  • 7 years ago · Quote · #9

    chesspunk04

    I think this is a wind up and we've been had...drat that pesky pawnshover. :)
  • 7 years ago · Quote · #10

    chewybac5

    jona004 wrote: I think this is a wind up and we've been had...drat that pesky pawnshover. :)

    hehe thats so ticky....


  • 7 years ago · Quote · #11

    Logicalfan10

    I never knew that there was a rule  that said you can change to a different colour! At least now it's less confusing now they changed the rule.
  • 7 years ago · Quote · #12

    Etienne

    FIDE didn't change any rules, you cannot promote to a piece of the opposite color pawnshover is just being weird. Tongue out
  • 7 years ago · Quote · #13

    chewybac5

    Etienne wrote: FIDE didn't change any rules, you cannot promote to a piece of the opposite color pawnshover is just being weird.

    That would be quite the interesting arguement in a tourny though in that position, The rules dont specifically state I cant promote to a different color....Tongue out


  • 7 years ago · Quote · #14

    chesspunk04

    chewybac5 wrote: Etienne wrote: FIDE didn't change any rules, you cannot promote to a piece of the opposite color pawnshover is just being weird.

    That would be quite the interesting arguement in a tourny though in that position, The rules dont specifically state I cant promote to a different color....


    The rules says i can't move a knight the same way i would a rook, that doesn't mean to say i can.


  • 10 months ago · Quote · #15

    bobina7

    Guys, he is correct. The old rules allowed for a piece to be promoted to any color, or to not be promoted at all. Scources: http://hebdenbridgechessclub.blogspot.com/2011/02/hardest-chess-problem-in-world.html

    also: wikipedia

  • 3 months ago · Quote · #16

    Adolph_M

    FIDE Laws of Chess 3.7e

    "When a pawn reaches the rank furthest from its starting position it must be exchanged as part of the same move on the same square for a new queen, rook, bishop or knight of the same colour."

    That basically means you cannot promote a pawn to a piece of the opposite color. If it was legal before, it isn't now.


  • 3 months ago · Quote · #17

    MeTristan

    You used to be able to not promote and have a dummy pawn which can't move.


Back to Top

Post your reply: