12382 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I'm working through Polgar's Chess: 5334 Problems, Combinations, and Games and have become a little obsessed with mating paterns/tactics and have started spotting them much easier. This isn't technically a puzzle since it comes from one of my games, but thanks to this book I saw it was mate in 3. There is a very tempting move, besides the mate, which is why I thought I'd share it. White actually resigned after playing their second move, but I don't know if it was because they saw the mate or the other move. I'm curious about that.
Fine checkmate. Well done!
I would, were this my game, have played QxQ, and won on material. I tend to be bad at spotting these things.
FLIP THE BOARD!!!
Why? I always present my games with my side on the bottom, which I think is common practice.
Common practice is white at the bottom
Honestly, who cares which side is at the bottom? Just let the poster go by their preference!
Everybody who reads chess books cares, that is why there is a universal convention. Look at this position, white to play and mate in 3:
But, if Black was at the bottom, a totally different solution. That's why you cant use the top diagram for the bottom position
Well, too bad. It has a grid, and if you can't see that a8 is listed in the bottom right hand corner, it isn't my problem. On top of that, I've seen many puzzles with black to move with the 8th rank on the bottom.
Wouldn't 2. ... Qh2+ also have worked?
That makes sense, thanks.
Well, it doesn't since it's only the second move :-p I think this is what you mean:
If you meant 2... Qxh2+ followed by moving the pawn, then it doesn't.
I think the pressence of the grid should remove all confusion.
Knowing the opposition rule(s) can help!
by mauerblume 3 minutes ago
5/20/2013 - Mate in 3
by ChristopherSaindon 4 minutes ago
Following a player
by topcop 7 minutes ago
My first Puzzle :o)
by Tweak_Imp 8 minutes ago
How to detect cheaters in OTB Tournaments?
by Calamondin 8 minutes ago
French Defence - Exchange Variation - Why Nf3?
by Stigmatisert 8 minutes ago
Making quick use of Zugzwang:
by FirebrandX 19 minutes ago
What rating would you expect to be after 1 year?
by CorrespondenceKing 21 minutes ago
Do premium members get a free ride?
by mldavis617 22 minutes ago
Chess.com is in second?
by Coder_On_Ster01ds 23 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com