12795 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
@cobra: At first glance it looks like the d pawn was never doubled.
I would have tried a better solution except I'm not really motivated to improve until someone else is beating me.
^ Huh? What d-pawn are you talking about? But that confusion aside, I agree that it would make little sense to try too hard for an improvement if you're already winning. Plus, time expired hours ago, so you win round 6 anyways. Round 7 begins when you post the next position.
Well, I have a position
^ That position doesn't count, I'm afraid. Only the previous winner gets to post the next position (otherwise we'd have a whole bunch of people posting crazy positions, but almost nobody trying to solve them ). But once round 7 is under way, you are very much welcome to get involved here (and, of course, if you win you can deal out any position you want).
Don't worry, will post tomorrow. I don't have time right now.
Sorry for the delay. This one will be the hardest yet.
Yes it is possible, but there are some neat tricks to it.
Edit: I did it in 95 moves to verify that it is possible, but you should be able to do much better.
41.5 moves - This could probably be improved, but not by much.
I have a feeling it can be done in slightly less, though not easily. Either way, that's the only attempt I'm going to make, and if it gets topped, it gets topped.
What I want to know is, was my answer in post #80 correct? I said in the comment that I wasn't 100% sure, and have been waiting for some sort of confirmation (I'm asking you because you posted the puzzle).
I think it is best, but maybe the only way is to have doubled passed pawns. c4 and b5 probably don't count, but even doubled passed pawns will be hard to achieve.
And your's seems best, as the pawns and knights moved optimally. Except maybe at the end, where the queen danced a bit.
NVM. I think the only problem is the black king going to e6 this way, but it might also be best, as en passant is required.
The problem specifies that "each side had 8 undoubled passed pawns". Doesn't the book give the solution?
Side to move most definitely matters. So it's 91 moves, as per the blue-text variation. I'd prefer that it be the mainline, but whatever - 91 moves is pretty darned impressive, regardless :)
How come all of a sudden, for the last two or three puzzles, everyone is posting answers in half-moves?
^ Probably because the diagrams for rounds 5 and 7 had Black to move, which requires an extra half move since White moves first from the starting position.
Anyway, thanks for resurrecting the thread. I'd completely forgotten about it, but now I'll have to consider rekindling this thing. It looks like I won the last round, meaning I would need to post the next position...
Do it. Seriously, I'd compete. I hadn't seen this 3 months ago, it looks like fun :)
Well, here goes nothing...
This one is trickier than it looks, and hopefully it will make for an interesting round and get things going again.
Okay, so more than a day has gone by now without any attempts. It has been a long time since this thread was active, though, so maybe I should remind everyone how this little contest works.
A position is given at the start of each round (the position for the current round is in post #97), which must be reached in as short a chess game (in # of moves) as possible. The moves used to get to the position do NOT need to be logical; they merely need to be legal. At the end of one week (from when the position was posted), whoever has posted the shortest legal sequence arriving at the position wins that round. That person then gets to post the position for the next round.
The positions posted can be anything you like, as long as they are reachable through legal play. Well-known positions (such as the one for round 4 in post #57) are somewhat discouraged, however. The only other rule worth mentioning is that you cannot participate in a round that you gave the position for (for obvious reasons).
Uh... well, that's pretty much it. Again, see the previous comment (#97) for the position you must reach to win round 8. Have fun! :)
Won't you post a board of previous winners to see who is the best?
This is by no means the shortest, but I think I'll post it anyway to give others something to beat.
Fair play policy?
by DABOSS2018 a few minutes ago
by hccralph a few minutes ago
Thought process for majking moves?
by ebbsandflows a few minutes ago
Can unrated players win awards in FIDE tournaments?
by Nytik 2 minutes ago
5/19/2013 - Mate in 2
by -_KNiGHt_- 4 minutes ago
by Gil-Gandel 6 minutes ago
Computer Analysis says 1...c5 is an Inaccuracy ???
by netzach 7 minutes ago
KG, Falkbeer, Nimzowitsch-Marshall Countergambit
by melvinbluestone 8 minutes ago
Question about the Novag Citrine Chess Computer
by Coder_On_Ster01ds 9 minutes ago
Could anyone do a analysis on this game
by Gil-Gandel 9 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com