Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Smith Morra Gambit trap


  • 4 years ago · Quote · #1

    Ray42594

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #2

    birdboy1

    obvious.  Why would black make a second move with the c6 knight when he/she needs to catch up in development?

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #3

    Ray42594

    Because my opponent didn't understand that concept

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #4

    birdboy1

    in that case, it's a blunder, not a trap.  A trap features natural looking moves being tactically refuted in a not so obvious way.  This is just a move obviously going against several principles(don't move a piece twice in the opening, don't open the position when down in development,etc)  It's not surprising that there's an immediate refutation to 7... Nxe5??

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #5

    sdtmcn

    Good.

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #6

    Kuomlei

    okay....

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #7

    Niven42

    birdboy1 wrote:

    in that case, it's a blunder, not a trap.  A trap features natural looking moves being tactically refuted in a not so obvious way.  This is just a move obviously going against several principles(don't move a piece twice in the opening, don't open the position when down in development,etc)  It's not surprising that there's an immediate refutation to 7... Nxe5??


     Still considered a trap.  There are lots of sound openings that violate the, "Don't move a piece twice in the opening, don't open the position when down in development, etc." rules.


Back to Top

Post your reply: