12823 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
1.Ne6 is not yhe right first move.
Smiley, in your line, after 3.Bg7 black can play 3...Kb2 (instead of 3...Qc1+) .
I thought the solution for a problem, wasn't actually the problem? It doesn't appear so in this case. Besides, I am not sure whether to be puzzled by this puzzle...
The puzzle is not easy . 1.Bf1 is not the right first move too.
Important in finding the solution is the first move,but the second one as well.
Yes Smiley, you are right - i gave this puzzle to a chess program and it showed at least 3 solutions - 1.Ne6 wins too.
I am sorry , this puzzle is from 1928 year -long before computers, and as Smiley showed has not one solution and is not correct.
I tried to change a little as the authors idea can work:
White to play and win
The solution for #223 :
I am still thinking on #224 :)
nice collection of puzzles....
thanks 4 sharing....
Here is a solution for #224 without promoting the pawn into Queen :
Here is a position/puzzle I've posted in another thread:
Does black have a chance? How. (by the way, to prevent confusion, the 8th rank is at the top [the black light-squared bishop is on e8])
#228 is not solved yet . I tried it but am missing something :
I'm missed 2. Ne7!! (I don't have a computer program to check my problems, sorry!) Of course, I suppose this means that black does not have much of a chance in my original position, but maybe someone with a computer could check my original position....... so lets change the position to after 1....Nc3 2. Re5 or 2.h7
impossible became i- am- possible , here
Here black win :
If we change position a little - I am not sure if somewhere there aren't mistakes ...
7/25/2014 - Sahovic - Karolyi 1986
by LarryJM 2 minutes ago
New Forum Rules
by hicks83 7 minutes ago
Ashley's Million-dollar chess tourney - but bring your own clocks
by Irontiger 8 minutes ago
Only a 40 year break...
by A-J-S 11 minutes ago
by pfren 13 minutes ago
YOUR IQ compared to" World Chess Champion" Garry Kasparov ..
by petrosianpupil 22 minutes ago
Bumping Old Threads
by Ziggy_Zugzwang 32 minutes ago
kicked from livechess
by macer75 34 minutes ago
Friend is in prision
by macer75 38 minutes ago
Delete account or alter username
by zapped 39 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!