Forums

Teaching chess to kids?

Sort:
Lousy

A friend of mine wanted me to teach his son (4 year old) how to play chess. I have never done this before.

Is 4 year old too young to start chess? How do I keep him interested?

How would I go about doing this?

Should I start with a computer software or start with simple endgames first?

CPawn

I would start with a simple introduction to the game.  Tell him a short story about chess.  Then introduce the pieces to him.  Remember hes 4, short attention span, and you need to gage if hes even interested in chess.

rooperi

I've tried to teach chess to a friend's 6 year old. I found it very difficult. I think you need a special talent.

kco

He is not  too young to start learning about chess, here try this forum and see if it help, 'click here'

Billium248

How young is too young depends on the individual child.  If they can remember how the pieces move, they can play the game.

The most important rule is: Don't ever LET them win.  They will feel like you're looking down on them.  They WANT a challenge.  They WANT to beat you.  And if you LET them win, the challenge will be gone, and the victory will be hollow and meaningless.

Whenever I teach a child to play, I always use the same approach:  I open up with the Scholar's Mate and beat them in 4-5 moves.  We reset the pieces, and I open up the exact same way - over and over again until they 1) learn to think beyond their current move, 2) anticipate what my next moves will be (eventually they will see the pattern), and 3) learn how to defend against it.

Once they've figured out how to recognize and defend against Scholar's Mate, I tell them this: "I am going to give you the OPPORTUNITY to checkmate me.  I am going to use the "Sandbag Openings," which will essentially give you a 2-move head start before I try to figure out how to get myself out of trouble.  After the first 2 moves, I am going to play to win, but I guarantee you the OPPORTUNITY to checkmate me."