Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

En passant


  • 3 years ago · Quote · #1

    Caldin99

    Was playing the computer for fun a few minutes ago and it jumped a pawn past my attacker. Does the computer have en passant rules applied or am I just retarded about en passant?

    basically:

    white pawn to F6, black counters with pawn's move to g5, and I cannot en passant capture the pawn, (no checks or anything)

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #2

    TheGrobe

    You'd have to have been on f5, not f6 for en passant to apply (and the move to g5 would have to have been a two-square advance from black).

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #3

    Caldin99

    ah okay. thanks for the clarification.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #4

    krs4423

    Check the rules and basics under the learn menu.  There is a very good explanation of how En Passant works in the special moves section.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #5

    SokeP

    TheGrobe wrote:

    You'd have to have been on f5, not f6 for en passant to apply (and the move to g5 would have to have been a two-square advance from black).


    Correct and the capture fxg (f5xg6) would have to be on and only on White's next move after g7-g5 by Black.

    It might help to think of it as a compensating rule for the pawn's special ability to move 2 ranks on the its fisrt move.


Back to Top

Post your reply: