9081 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
chessmagic5
I would like to call the attention of chess.com business operators to give feedback about this report/enquiry of mine.
To the one reading right now, BEWARE. DO NOT TRY TO VISIT THE LINKS BELOW. THEY WILL ATTACK YOUR PC WITH MALWARES OR VIRUSES!
While playing an online game here, suddenly I was forwarded to the URL below :
(Do not visit it! It will try to infect your PC with malware)
http://scaninternetworld.com <--infested!
Very shortly after, a new dialogue box pops up from the website saying, "Your PC is found infected with viruses. Press OK to start free scan to clean up..." ---DONT BE FOOLED! DONT PRESS OK BUTTON! NOR THE CANCEL BUTTON! You should ignore this by closing the dialogue box. Otherwise you have just given the website the access to download viruses to your PC!
Thank goodness I have an anti-virus software already installed in my PC, and it warned me about the attack attempt. But to be really sure they didn't actually infected my PC I ran a whole sytem scan. It took long hours last night to finish and thankfully nothing was infected. Relieved I call it a night after adding the website to my blocklisted sites in my browser.
This afternoon, went back here at chess.com, read a few article then went straight to playing my online games. And guess what! It happened again! But this time its from another website below:
http://cheapreadweb.com <----infested!
So now, can chess.com officials explain this occurences please. I have noticed you have ads here and there, especially those ones that pop up new windows. I can understand your need to have revenues but if you cannot control ads (or webpages we are forwarded to) that will attack our PC's, we would rather appreciate if you can just hold off such advertisements or applications that lead to PC attacks.
Would really appreciate an immediate investigation of the matter and regular posting of the progress and actions you will take on to get rid of these attacks.
Also to my fellow members, who have read this. Please let everybody know about my experience. There maybe others out there who had the same experience, and may be encouraged to voice out too. In that way, we can really know the real facts of these attacks. Let's also warn the others.
Thank you very much.
Joemz aka chessmagic5
philidor_position
When your computer is already infected with viruses and malicious programs, it's sometimes irrelevant of what site you're on. You could be on the official site of Doctor Norton's Security Whatever and still new windows would pop up. So, it's very likely that this has nothing to do with you being on chess com.
Antivirus scans may not be sufficient in revealing what's causing this on your computer. I would try a scan with spybot, and more importantly, check my startup list.
Thank you for the input. Where to find and use spybot?
Also, I use Norton anti-virus a the moment. What would you recommend best?
http://www.safer-networking.org/
And what antivirus program are you using? Is the virus database up to date?
Always updated, my Norton anti-virus.
Im sorry but Im very hesitant to try this spybot you are recommending. I have checked their website and there are no legitimate contact details. Who am I going to get back to if their software is actually a malware itself? Thank you for the offer but I dont think it is safe to download their software without providing such details to protect myself.
AS PER THE WEBSITES I STATED ABOVE. I can now firmly conclude that these websites are malicious. Have done repeated checks and both of the websites have the same front page and both generate bogus dialogue boxes to attempt to fool visitors to downloading a virus. I am very confident to say, that I was forwarded to the said websites from chess.com while playing online games. I can bet a finger of mine cut off for a million dollars that I am right.
OK good luck with life, you'll need it.
tomjoad
Life with a Windows box must really suck. I just can't imagine.
Well if no one will care, then let the virus attacks remain a threat in this website. I could have had kept this incident to myself and not care for other's but I didnt.
Goodluck to all.
LokiMundane
Spybot S&d
http://www.safer-networking.org/index2.html
Ccleaner
http://www.ccleaner.com/
Malware bytes
http://www.malwarebytes.org/
Download these three and get the newest updates. You should be able to do that from the programs gui's.
if you are using Xp , after that restart your system into safe mode.
While in safemode run ccleaner and clean out your system cache and also your system registry.
after that is completed run malware bytes and spybot AT THE SAME TIME.
continue to run both together until both give clean results.
restart computer into safe mode again.
repeat as needed.
Have you read his response to me when I suggested spybot? He said how would he know if it wasn't a malware itself! And you come right out of the blue suggesting 2 other malicious programs. Evil, such evil you are!
it's weird reading the dialog of some people. Maybe the austrailians aren't hip to the wiley ways of the internet.
Maybe it's just this guy. Who knows.
We are just trying to help , using some of those awesome chess skills and apply it to scouring the web for such information and you will likely see these same replies repeated.
My prayers go out to the poor git who tries to get this guy to download "hijack this"
AnthonyCG
...My prayers go out to the poor git who tries to get this guy to download "hijack this..."
@ RUHMP1 : Haha yourself because you honestly believe you were funny with a stupid comment like that. Go back to school to learn some manners. Your parents must be so ashamed of you Haha! I suggest you take some iodine too to help with your low IQ and EQ. It might also help with your low elo rating. Simply ignorant. Just got attacked but not infected -Haha again :-)
@ LokiMundane : Pardon me but I dont quite dig the way you express yourself. Can you rephrase, please? Nah, not really, Im just playing like stupid as well :-)
......
Thanks mate its the thought that counts about helping and I now see that you are sincere.
There are others here who had the same experience. Have a look:
http://www.chess.com/forum/view/help-support/spread-the-word-about-these-virus-websites
Dude I been on here since 2007 and haven't goten anything. And that was before I knew crap about computers. If you don't want to follow the advice then that's fine, but it's really the best option. You could probably hav been rid of that stuff yesterday.
Just keep in mind that the virus doesn't care what you do. It's gonna keep doing what it wants until you do something about it.
super12345
One simple way to prevent this is to go premium
mosqutip
This isn't a chess.com problem, never has been, and never will be. Also, I don't think any program you download will fix this problem, you'll probably only be able to remove the virus problems with manual deletion (possibly from a Linux boot disc) or with a full reformat and reinstall of your computer. Once the infection is affecting your computer this badly, it will be able to disable or work around most programs you install.
It's already on there so he's screwed until he gets it fixed. But I don't know how you can turn down free advice like that. He didn't even have to wait either like at those repair forums.
This isn't a chess.com problem, never has been, and never will be. ...
Again, there are proofs that I am not the only one who had this attack browsing chess.com.
Just to be clear, I experienced this attack 3 times on different occassion ONLY from browsing here in chess.com. There is a strong suspect that there is a web script that is doing this forwarding users to be forwarded to malicious websites. To be specific I will bet on the advertisement scripts chess.com have written on their webpages.
If you ask me, it would be foolish not to consider that a possibility, especially if you run the chess.com business. What? More than 3 users already are claiming the same experience, and yet no? Bullocks!
Fischer vs. Kasparov
by AndyClifton a few minutes ago
Have your chess skills helped you in real life?
by nameno1had a few minutes ago
Aggressive Response to 4...Nf6 in the Scotch
by BruceBenedict 4 minutes ago
CPOTM May 2012 cont.
by ivandh 4 minutes ago
5/26/2012 - Ragozin - Veresov, Moscow 1945
by vivekhodge 5 minutes ago
How do I make my games rated ?
by mclnyoda 5 minutes ago
Bird's Opening
by chessblood 12 minutes ago
To all native English speakers: clarification needed
by Sred 18 minutes ago
If You Can Beat Meeee...
by WeisseSchachlade2109 25 minutes ago
Deep Fritz 13
by Nshi 27 minutes ago