11685 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
According to FIDE rules, a five-fold repetition is a draw. No claim needed.
Not sure if the live chess server implements that rule though.
That rule is very new (effective since July, 1st). I guess most online servers have not implemented it yet.
I thought the 3 fold draw was automatic and think it should be (Fritz draws automatically); however, in my opportunities to draw since discovering this rule, I have found that it is not a big deal.
You can't get a draw, automatic or claimed by just one person repeating moves. The position of both player's pieces has to be the same.
Neither player can claim the draw on chess.com without the other player having the same option.
It sounds like you are saying that if I make a 3rd move that creates a third repetition, I cannot claim the draw.
Here is an example(Ignore the fact that there is insuficent material to mate):
No, there's no threefold there ;)
Okie, Think I got it now. Here, either side can claim the draw, right?
You click the Draw button. If there is a legal reason for it, then it will be automatically accepted. Otherwise, your opponent will have to accept the draw.
I've seen people mention that the draw button text changes to 'Claim Draw'. But I don't know if this is true.
It does change in online chess, definitely.
I drew in blitz yesterday by threefold. I had to claim it and the draw button didn't change.
Whelp I learned something here! Thanks!
the "smile". Is important.
Reached the same position 4 times. Why wasn't there an automatic draw?
by Eagle_M16 4 minutes ago
Inviting a friend to live chess
by GEB333 5 minutes ago
No computer can solve this mate in 1, my revenge!!
by admiral_stapler 7 minutes ago
Another new entry in CHESS CLOCKS
by wiscmike 20 minutes ago
What would be the best brake on playing under the influence of alcohol?
by MorraMeister 21 minutes ago
10/6/2015 - No Interest In Her
by invariant 33 minutes ago
How can consider everything I've learned in a positonal chess game?
by NativeChessMinerals 57 minutes ago
by RoseCherian 57 minutes ago
unfair play warning - for not accepting rematch
by thegreat_patzer 58 minutes ago
when is a minute not a minute?
by sirrichardburton 60 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!