11686 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
please read the following situation and give me advice on what i should have done and how i should have handled it.
i was recently playing against someone in an online tournament. it was a theme tournament as well although i'm not sure if that's relevant. we were still in the first round and playing our first of 2 games against each other when the following happened.
after around 20 moves, my opponent wrote in the chat to me "draw both games?" (keep in mind that the second game had not started yet - it would start after the first was finished.) he sent the draw offer before i had a chance to respond. since i did not like my position in the game i decided to accept the draw, but i did so without any comment to my opponent. i agreed to nothing and simply accepted the draw ending the game.
when the second of 2 games began against this opponent, i began playing it like normal. after maybe 2 moves my opponent and i had the following conversation in chat:
opponent: second draw?me: why?opponent: i ask earlier on the first gameopponent: because it's my last gameme: i didn't like my position and accepted the draw. i don't agree to a draw in this game.
my opponent made no comments back and promptly resigned the game.
did i do anything wrong? did he do anything wrong? what's the best course of action in the situation? thanks.
i'm not trying to get anyone in trouble nor am i calling my opponent out for doing something wrong. just curious as to what i should have done.
Nah, you did nothing wrong. Games are supposed to be played, not drawn on move 1
I'm not sure if this sort of collusion is allowed, so I think he did something wrong by suggesting it. You're fine.
I would have written back declining his suggestion or offer so it was clear to him and then accepted the draw offer he gave for that game.
yeah, i think i may have been in the wrong accepting the draw without commenting on his question. although, he should have waited for an answer before offering a draw i believe. idk.
Nonsense, we are not dealing in contract law, we are playing chess. There is no provision in USCF rules, FIDE rules or Chess.com rules about conditional offers. You either offer draw and make your move, you make your move or you resign. No stipulaions are permitted and are irrelevant to any decision making on the part of the other player.
Maybe a little disingenuous, but I think the suggestion to collude was worse.
Certainly a mistake to extend the draw offer before having confirmation of your intentions.
Fritz and chessbase on a tablet
by guardianx9 5 minutes ago
Why are women not as successful as men in chess?
by stuzzicadenti 8 minutes ago
Make your own opening
by XxX_mlgweedchess_xXx 21 minutes ago
10/3/2015 - D Bronstein - V Kortchnoi, Leningrad 1962
by tictac12347 24 minutes ago
Best excuse for losing
by jfly01 27 minutes ago
Just saw Pawn Sacrifice, absolutely dreadful.
by umirin1991 32 minutes ago
Some Pictures of My Collection
by cgrau 33 minutes ago
by EliTeDavee 40 minutes ago
Who will win the World Cup of Chess
by Vibhav_G 42 minutes ago
Some doubts regarding the dragon sicilian
by Trazaz 43 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!