Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

tie breakers


  • 2 years ago · Quote · #1

    rookienomore

    okay, so I am in the tournament 'porcellis group of 4 under 1300 #1. I have won three games so far and I have no tie breaker points, yet I only lost one game to ristou and thats the only game he has won... yet he has 3 tie breaker points. How are these points calculated? Does anyone know the formula that is used to clculate tie breaker points?

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #2

    wbilfc

    You have won three games against people that have won no games, therefore your tie break is zero. However the guy who beat you gets your points added to his tie break ie you have won three games so he gets three tie break points.

    Formula is : u get your opponents points added to ur tie break score if u win. If u draw u get half the the points of ur opponent added to ur tie break score.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #3

    wbilfc

    It's worth noting too, that when the players u have already beaten get to win a game ur tie break will increase retrospectively too.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #4

    rookienomore

    ok, so that must be why a person gets more tie break points if you win games later in the tournament

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #5

    rookienomore

    anyway thanks for response

  • 23 months ago · Quote · #6

    LCT10

    but my TB ones changed after the game!

  • 23 months ago · Quote · #7

    Checkplez

    So what happens when there is a three way tie with wins and tie breaker points in the round?

  • 23 months ago · Quote · #8

    eddysallin

    Checkplez wrote:

    So what happens when there is a three way tie with wins and tie breaker points in the round?

    they all move on.....

  • 23 months ago · Quote · #9

    UBERMENSCH1952

    I do not quite understand that tiebreakers concept.... I am in a tournament group... I have already won most of the games... They say I have 13 tiebreakers.... I will not probably be in a tiebreak situation in that group... so what do these 13 tiebreakers mean?? I don't understand how this applies....

  • 23 months ago · Quote · #10

    Scottrf

    They apply only if points are level, to 'break ties'.

  • 23 months ago · Quote · #11

    UBERMENSCH1952

    I guess this means that these 13 tiebreaker points will probably be totally useless to me since I am winning that group soundly and totally and will not be in any point level situation in that group... so I don't see what or where is the big deal here....

  • 23 months ago · Quote · #12

    Scottrf

    Did you just come here to boast that you are winning your group?

    Yes of course tie break points are not important if you don't tie, you'd expect that to go without saying.

  • 14 months ago · Quote · #13

    jeflen5055

    Glad I finally learned the rule. Two of us have beaten the other players. Between us< i won the first and he won the 2nd....so he won the tournament by one break point. I should have forfited the game I was losing first. 


Back to Top

Post your reply: