11475 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
okay, so I am in the tournament 'porcellis group of 4 under 1300 #1. I have won three games so far and I have no tie breaker points, yet I only lost one game to ristou and thats the only game he has won... yet he has 3 tie breaker points. How are these points calculated? Does anyone know the formula that is used to clculate tie breaker points?
You have won three games against people that have won no games, therefore your tie break is zero. However the guy who beat you gets your points added to his tie break ie you have won three games so he gets three tie break points.
Formula is : u get your opponents points added to ur tie break score if u win. If u draw u get half the the points of ur opponent added to ur tie break score.
It's worth noting too, that when the players u have already beaten get to win a game ur tie break will increase retrospectively too.
ok, so that must be why a person gets more tie break points if you win games later in the tournament
anyway thanks for response
but my TB ones changed after the game!
So what happens when there is a three way tie with wins and tie breaker points in the round?
they all move on.....
I do not quite understand that tiebreakers concept.... I am in a tournament group... I have already won most of the games... They say I have 13 tiebreakers.... I will not probably be in a tiebreak situation in that group... so what do these 13 tiebreakers mean?? I don't understand how this applies....
They apply only if points are level, to 'break ties'.
I guess this means that these 13 tiebreaker points will probably be totally useless to me since I am winning that group soundly and totally and will not be in any point level situation in that group... so I don't see what or where is the big deal here....
Did you just come here to boast that you are winning your group?
Yes of course tie break points are not important if you don't tie, you'd expect that to go without saying.
Glad I finally learned the rule. Two of us have beaten the other players. Between us< i won the first and he won the 2nd....so he won the tournament by one break point. I should have forfited the game I was losing first.
Chess.com's Computer Rating
by MateInSe7en a few minutes ago
what the #$%^was he playing and how did he win?
by Somebodysson a few minutes ago
12/10/2013 - Easterwood-Williams 2004
by Avi20022 2 minutes ago
Official Chess Troll of the Year!
by SupremeOverlord 3 minutes ago
my awesome program is invincible!!!
by Sangwin 6 minutes ago
2014 Italian Invitational Selection Drawing
by Cogwheel 7 minutes ago
Why Russians are so good at chess.
by clms_chess 7 minutes ago
Brutal Queen Sacrifice
by christophersudargo 7 minutes ago
If you could combine two chess pieces powers what would the two pieces be???????
by citizenoftheworld91 11 minutes ago
What is the lamest game or setup position you can think of.
by FancyKnight 13 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!