Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Withdraw from Tournament?

• 2 years ago · Quote · #1

chanhtu

I'm new to Chess.com.  I am playing in 2 tournaments. I signed up for another one to start on January 1. This tournament is for ratings 1201-1400. Since then, my rating has risen to over 1400. Do I need to withdraw from this tournament? If so, how? Does withdrawing from a tournament leave a negative mark on your record?

• 2 years ago · Quote · #2

PrawnEatsPrawn

1. You do not have to withdraw, though the TD may kick you out, anyway.

2. Tournament homepage (right hand side):

3. No negative mark, if you withdraw before the start.

• 2 years ago · Quote · #3

TadDude

chanhtu wrote:

I'm new to Chess.com.  I am playing in 2 tournaments. I signed up for another one to start on January 1. This tournament is for ratings 1201-1400. Since then, my rating has risen to over 1400. Do I need to withdraw from this tournament? If so, how? Does withdrawing from a tournament leave a negative mark on your record?

No need to withdraw from official tournaments like  http://www.chess.com/tournament/15th-chesscom-quick-knockouts-1201-1400

You will be moved to the appropriate tournament when they start.

A withdrawal shows in stats but has no effect on registering in tournaments.

Edit: The last I saw about withdrawal before the start in the forums was a complaint about it being counted. That was a long time ago.

ll Tournaments

Leaderboard Points: 0
    Events Entered: 2
    1st Place Finishes: 0
    2nd Place Finishes: 0
    3rd Place Finishes: 0
    Withdrawals: 0
    Tournaments Hosted: 0
    Total # Players Hosted: 0

You will not be able to see the above as a basic member.

• 2 years ago · Quote · #4

PrawnEatsPrawn

TadDude wrote:

Edit: The last I saw about withdrawal before the start in the forums was a complaint about it being counted. That was a long time ago.

They don't show, if you withdraw before the start.

(Just tested)

• 2 years ago · Quote · #5

Javan64