Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Comments


  • 4 years ago

    Dusten_Sobotta

    What about the option of:

    7: Bxb8, Rxb8
    8: axb5, cxb5
    9: Rxa7, Bb7
    10: f3, Nf6


    Isn't this ample compensation for white?  He's quickly taking the center, his pawns are aligned in the direction of open and half-open files, he has taken back the pawn sacrifice, and can follow black's castle in a couple moves...

  • 4 years ago

    SgWerker

    Thank you Daniel.

    Good lesson about not releasing the tension in a position without concrete calculation. Some nice general lessons about QG pawn structures as well.

    Do you have the time controls for this game? It seems like players often release the tension too early in blitz games.  G/5 or G/3 for example.

  • 4 years ago

    kaichess

    Very good and instructive, thank you.

  • 4 years ago

    Lawdoginator

    I'm getting hooked on this series!

  • 5 years ago

    mburke

    Love this series of lectures. Great teaching, great advice. Thank you.

  • 5 years ago

    saw1

    Good lecture, thanks

  • 5 years ago

    h777

    Will there be more videos like this. I found the game in online chess.

  • 5 years ago

    IM dpruess

    i'll move the second part up to tomorrow so joey doesn't miss it.

    i remember when Danny was doing live sessions and people found out that his next vid would be this amateur analysis rather than more live sessions "nono, don't stop this series." but as you see, people like this series too! so folks, don't worry too much when this comes to an end as well. other authors will also do amateur analyses from time to time, and somebody is bound to like Danny's next series.

  • 5 years ago

    joeysouth21

    Singe video topics (as distinct from the 10-part stuff) that are split up dont work well on this site.  Unless you log on everyday, the viewer will usually misses the 2nd part.  Because its not a series, there isnt much incentive to track it down either.  

    What is my point?  Unless its a series (3 or more videos, with one whole lecture per video), dont split it up!   

  • 5 years ago

    AtahanT

    Thanks for a great lecture on the slav and queens gambit and other very useful advice! I found it very useful as I play these openings.

  • 5 years ago

    ajitsampat

    Amateur Game reviews are excellent videos to learn from and should be an ongoing feature and not just a series that ends. We should also try to pick games at different skill levels and you will see different type of mistakes made. This is  a good game to review and Danny you have done commendable job in pointing out mistakes made and general insight into the game of chess. Many thanks.

  • 5 years ago

    jdm

    I really like this series.  I feel like I learn more from this format than any other.  It's a little like getting the computer analysis of my own games (blunders), but more informative.  The computer tells you the move you should have made, but doesn't give all the reasons like Danny does.

    I wish this series could go on forever.

  • 5 years ago

    steveoplacebo

    Love the amateur vids, and Thanks to Daniel Rensch for Slowing down a little. keeping it simple and taking one step at a time really works. cheers :)  

  • 5 years ago

    rdjain1

    Woot!  Thanks for the review, Danny!  If you guys think there were mistakes in the opening, get ready for a dirty, dirty middlegame (move 29 still makes me cringe).

    Not to 'release the tension' too soon by giving away what will happen, but my biggest headache in this game ended up being my uncastled king.  After a5 was played, my plan as black centered on utilizing the queenside pawns to create a passer in an eventual middlegame, and to otherwise improve my minor pieces.  Unfortunately, my opponent found a better middlegame target than me and so there ensued a deadly game of cat-and-mouse.  Stay tuned to see what happens! 

  • 5 years ago

    vladamirduce

    " I am making it sound complicated, but it is very simple"

    Actually I think your analogy with the R's made perfect sense.  I've never really thought about it that way with tension in the middle, or with pawns but it does make sense looking at it like that.

    Thanks!

  • 5 years ago

    IM DanielRensch

    Tension Questions-

    The basic idea or "rule of thumb" is: The person to trade and release tension first, especially with pawns, is usually making a mistake. Try to think about it like this: If rooks (simplest one to understand) are challenging each other along an open file, the first person to trade is allowing the opponent to recapture with a rook, and therefore maintain control of the open file. Furthermore, The person who made that trade first generally will not be able to bring the other rook to challenge that file again.

    With other pieces this concept isn't as obvious, but it is still there. When people make exchanges without a "concrete reason behind it", they are generally allowing there opponent to recapture, and therefore maintain control over the situation that previously held tension. I am making it sound complicated, but it is very simple: Don't trade pieces or pawns unless you have a reason to!!! When you trust your abilities to outplay someone, you want pieces on the board until the "concrete" opportunity presents itself for a combination...

    The Video cut off because I talked too much and we had to split it into two parts... sorry! Wink

    Danny

  • 5 years ago

    vladamirduce

    The player who releases the tension first in a building structure usually made a mistake; is a good rule of thumb

    Actually, he said "usually the first person to release the tension is making a mistake".  I hope Danny returns to this point on part II.   I'd really like to hear more on that one.    i.e. When is it NOT a mistake?  Undecided

  • 5 years ago

    KoherC

    The video cut off but I like the theory suggestions.  Don't develop the bishops too early and don't trade for knight too early giving up colored squares.  Also be sure to calculate to confirm your intuitions.  The player who releases the tension first in a building structure usually made a mistake; is a good rule of thumb.

  • 5 years ago

    dazbedford

    ok 2 halfs

  • 5 years ago

    dazbedford

    Why has the video finished early?

Back to Top

Post your reply: