Webinar 63. Rooks on the 7th Rank

Webinar 63. Rooks on the 7th Rank

Gertsog
FM Gertsog
|
1

Dear Chess Friends! 

I’m sure most of you know when it comes to rook endgames you should try to occupy the 7th rank with your rook (or 2 rooks). What the rooks can do there? Check the king (you get a constant option of perpetual check), take the pawns, of course, and sometimes even create mating nets.

However, in the middlegame, a rook on the 7th rank can be even more important, especially if it supports a kingside attack. The rook there not only creates a mating threat but also prevents enemy pieces from defense through that rank. And it’s very often a decisive factor for the success of your attack.

I know that many players underestimate the importance of rook position on the 7th rank, that’s why I decided to conduct a webinar devoted to it, where I’m going to illustrate that having 2 rooks on the 7th rank can often change the evaluation of the position even if you are one or a few pawns down.

I’m glad to welcome you to the 63rd webinar “Rooks on the 7th Rank". I'll explain when and how to deliver your rooks to the 7th rank to decide the game. Of course, everything will be illustrated by GMs’ games.

The games played by top grandmasters I'm going to demonstrate at the webinar (and, of course, explain the ideas behind their moves):

  • Mikhail Botvinnik – Vassily Smyslov
  • Boris Gelfand – Gata Kamsky
  • Petr Svidler – Jon Ludvig Hammer

Come to the webinar, learn how to activate your rooks and win more games!

The webinar starts on Sunday (3rd of January) at 9 a.m. (EST), 2 p.m. (GMT), 5 p.m. (Moscow time). This webinar is free.

Please, register for the webinar with this link:

https://tricksofchess.clickmeeting.com/webinar-63-rooks-on-the-7th-rank/register

Please, don’t forget to register in advance and reserve your spot in case of a high number of attendees.

See you at the webinar!

FM Victor Neustroev