Birth Countries and Actual Countries of World Champions and Candidates

Mar 29, 2018, 11:01 AM |

Here's a small handy table that perhaps some might find useful. Only classical world champions and candidates are listed. World champions are in bold.

Player First WC
at WC level 
Birthplace Birthplace's current
name and country
Wilhelm Steinitz 1886 United States Prague, Austrian Empire Prague, Czech Republic
Johannes Zukertort 1886 United Kingdom Lublin, Russian Empire Lublin, Poland
Mikhail Chigorin 1889 Russian Empire Gatchina, Russian Empire Gatchina, Russia
Isidor Gunsberg 1890 Austria-Hungary Budapest, Austrian Empire Budapest, Hungary
Emanuel Lasker 1894 German Empire
Weimar Republic
Berlinchen, Prussia Barlinek, Poland
Frank Marshall 1907 United States New York City, United States
Siegbert Tarrasch 1908 German Empire Breslau, Prussia Wroclaw, Poland
Carl Schlechter 1910 Austria-Hungary Vienna, Austria-Hungary Vienna, Austria
Dawid Janowski 1910 Russian Empire Wolkowysk, Russian Empire Vawkavysk, Belarus
Jose Raul Capablanca 1921 Cuba Havana, Spanish Empire Havana, Cuba
Alexander Alekhine 1927 France Moscow, Russian Empire Moscow, Russia
Efim Bogoljubov 1929 Weimar Republic
Nazi Germany
Stanislavchyk, Russian Empire Stanislavchyk, Ukraine
Max Euwe 1935 Netherlands Amsterdam, Netherlands
Mikhail Botvinnik 1948 Soviet Union Kuokkala, Russian Empire Repino, Russia
Vasily Smyslov 1948 Soviet Union Moscow, Soviet Union Moscow, Russia
Paul Keres 1948 Soviet Union Narva, Russian Empire Narva, Estonia
Samuel Reshevsky 1948 United States Ozorkow, Russian Empire Ozorkow, Poland
David Bronstein 1951 Soviet Union Bila Tserkva, Soviet Union Bila Tserkva, Ukraine
Mikhail Tal 1960 Soviet Union Riga, Latvia
Tigran Petrosian 1963 Soviet Union Tiflis, Soviet Union Tbilisi, Georgia
Boris Spassky 1966 Soviet Union Leningrad, Soviet Union St. Petersburg, Russia
Bobby Fischer 1972 United States Chicago, United States
Anatoly Karpov 1978 Soviet Union Zlatoust, Soviet Union Zlatoust, Russia
Viktor Korchnoi 1978 Switzerland Leningrad, Soviet Union St. Petersburg, Russia
Garry Kasparov 1984 Soviet Union
Baku, Soviet Union Baku, Azerbaijan
Nigel Short 1993 United Kingdom Leigh, United Kingdom
Viswanathan Anand 1995 India Mayiladuthurai, India
Vladimir Kramnik 2000 Russia Tuapse, Soviet Union Tuapse, Russia
Peter Leko 2004 Hungary Subotica, Yugoslavia Subotica, Serbia
Veselin Topalov 2006 Bulgaria Ruse, Bulgaria
Peter Svidler 2007 Russia Leningrad, Soviet Union St. Petersburg, Russia
Alexander Morozevich 2007 Russia Moscow, Soviet Union Moscow, Russia
Boris Gelfand 2007 Israel Minsk, Soviet Union Minsk, Belarus
Levon Aronian 2007 Armenia Yerevan, Soviet Union Yerevan, Armenia
Alexander Grischuk 2007 Russia Moscow, Soviet Union Moscow, Russia
Magnus Carlsen 2013 Norway Tonsberg, Norway
Sergey Karjakin 2016 Russia Simferopol, Soviet Union Simferopol, Russia
Fabiano Caruana 2018 United States Miami, United States

Public service announcement: All political comments will be deleted, regardless of contents.